Game desktop (help a brother out!) - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2013, 09:34 AM   #51 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

It looks like there's two channels (A & B).
Channel A is DIMM_A1 & DIMM_A2, which would be the first pair of black and gold slots closest to the CPU. I would put the two RAM modules in those slots.
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 10:00 AM   #52 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Hmm, I put one in A1 and one in B1 (the two black ones) since that was what someone else did on an ASUS motherboard on youtube (different board but I figured same principles?). Should I change it? Does it make much difference? Can I change it later?

Also, I'm plugging in my wires for the external build test but I can't find one with four sockets on the corsair power supply. It's supposed to be a 4-pinned ATX12V but I only find 6 pinned and 8 pinned ones.
__________________

Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 10:10 AM   #53 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Rawne View Post
Hmm, I put one in A1 and one in B1 (the two black ones) since that was what someone else did on an ASUS motherboard on youtube (different board but I figured same principles?). Should I change it? Does it make much difference? Can I change it later?
I take back what I said, I forgot Asus does it a little differently. A1 + B1 enable the dual channel configuration, so what you have now is the best arrangement.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 10:28 AM   #54 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

I'm about ready to do the power-on-self test on the external build. A few small questions:

- I can't plug my monitor to my graphic card (graphic card only has hdmi outlets and I only have a vga cable). But there's a vga outlet on the motherboard itself. Can I connect my screen there?

- I haven't found a four-pinned plug for the atx12v (power supply connector) but I found an eight-pinned one which has the right pin configuration (some pins have curves, others straight edges). I can plug half of it in. Will that work?

- I want to do the power test before I put things inside my case. I have no idea which pins I should short though. There's no PW demarkation on the motherboard and I can't find out in the manual. Any ideas?
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:10 PM   #55 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Ok, nevermind that. I'm past that stage and I'm ready to mount the motherboard. Point is, I can't... I'm starting to think it's not compatible with my tower.

There are 9 mounting points with integrated mounting screw in the 300r and three holes (and two mounting screws to fit in them). The thing is if I put my mobo in the case so that it aligns with 5 of the points I need (and so the output for my keyboard, mouse, sound etc is near the exit for them) I can't fit the sixth.

What am I supposed to do now? :s
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:26 PM   #56 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

The risers screw out and you can rearrange them. Make sure they are all in the proper spot for a screw to hold it down as those also ground the board to the case.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:34 PM   #57 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Hmm... there aren't really risers. There are about 9 "bumps" in the case with a hole in it (and I need 6) and there are two smaller holes that can fit a mounting screw (the traditional kind I guess?). Then there's this weird sort of metal stub in the middle (right where I need a screw for my motherboard) that doesn't have a hole in it so I can't use it to screw the motherboard down. Then there's this hole in my motherboard which hovers over a place with no "bump" or tiny hole that can fit a mounting screw.

Is it a problem if not all the holes on my motherboard are grounded to the case? And what do I do with that weird metal stub at the center?
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:41 PM   #58 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Which case did you wind up buying?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:46 PM   #59 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Corsair Carbide 300r
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:50 PM   #60 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

mATX board mounts are marked with an M for the holes that should lined up with that board. According to the picture, the bottom left should only be a rubber mount where the one directly above it next to the 1st card bracket has a hole. The middle piece should be a plastic nipple which just slides into the center hole. If these pieces that I described aren't already on there then search the box of parts that came with your case.

__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, gaming, price-value, thank you, urgent

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.