Game demo embarrasses my pc! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2009, 06:33 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

Hmm. well to me it really doesn't matter one way or another. I could just save myself 20 bucks or so going the amd route. decisions decisions. but ****, power supplies are pretty expensive. i picked my x finity up for like 50 bucks if i recall.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

well, there are cheaper alternatives, but that corsair is a very good brand and will last you a while.

also that extra $20 would be well worth it.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:46 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

All right, I'll either go with that corsair, or how would this do...

Amazon.com: OCZ OCZ600SXS StealthXStream 600W Power Supply with Four +12V rails, ATX, and 120mm Fan: Electronics
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:50 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

^ that's a pretty decent psu. you probly should stick with newegg (might have a better price) and thier rma process is easy.

if you dont want to spend the money on the corsair then the OCZ will be fine.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 07:26 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

Its thrashing my rig because the HD sucks (IDE ftl) while my friend who has a lower end CPU and an HD 4670 (which is = to an HD 3850 pretty much) and less RAM with a SATA RaptorX drive gets better loading times...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

Seagate Barracuda IV ST380021A - disk reads 75MB in 3.04 seconds (25.03MB/s).
Seagate Cheetah ST373455LW - disk reads 384MB in 3.00 seconds (127.96MB/s).
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

I don't think my HDD sucks though, it's SATA at 7200 rpm i believe. got it a lil over a year ago but I think it's fast.

Edit: last thing, would I see a big increase in getting pc 8500 ram, or would my 2 gigs of pc6400 be plenty fast?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:58 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

It could be your GPU?

or

Maybe you haven't defragged your HD or ran CCleaner on it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 06:11 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
So I installed the new Empire Total war demo. to start the game up it took about 10 minutes of load time, then to load each map/battle it took an additional 5-10 minutes, and then after each battle to return to the menu the same thing.

As some of you know, I have teetered between a whole new system, or just a video card update. I was starting to lean towards a video card update, but this incredibly slow load time wouldn't be improved by a new video card would it???

I've got a 2.3ghz dual core, 3 gigs of dual channel pc6400 ram, and a sata hdd. Is this stuff really that outdated that I can't even load fast anymore?? Or would just a video card update do the trick? Keep in mind I am running on a 26" monitor at 1336x768 resolution.
Your experience isn't because of YOUR PC.

1.) GameSpot Forums - Empire: Total War - load times
2.) Empire: Total War Demo Released - Voodoo Extreme
3.) Blue's News: Comments - Empire: Total War Demo

I had a very similar experience with load times in all the places you mentioned.

When the game did actually load the performance was fine at highest settings.

my video card is HD 4850X2. CPU: Opty 180 @ 3.0Ghz 2G of DDR3500 HDD: 300G WD Velociraptor
24" acer LCD @ 1920x1200 - WINDOWS XP SP3

This system although isn't latest and greatest plays everything maxed out perfectly.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-25-2009, 07:45 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

Ahhh thanks a lot man. I am somewhat relieved. Maybe I won't have to throw money out the window then.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source 2D game creation framework trying to fill various positions *screenshots* mvBarracuda Programming 28 01-22-2009 10:55 AM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Game pads (not controllers) worth it? Ind3siszive PC Gaming 1 06-05-2008 12:05 AM
Game Tuesday Osiris PC Gaming 1 06-03-2008 01:29 PM
stalker robina_80 PC Gaming 14 09-04-2007 08:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.