Game demo embarrasses my pc! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2009, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Game demo embarrasses my pc!

So I installed the new Empire Total war demo. to start the game up it took about 10 minutes of load time, then to load each map/battle it took an additional 5-10 minutes, and then after each battle to return to the menu the same thing.

As some of you know, I have teetered between a whole new system, or just a video card update. I was starting to lean towards a video card update, but this incredibly slow load time wouldn't be improved by a new video card would it???

I've got a 2.3ghz dual core, 3 gigs of dual channel pc6400 ram, and a sata hdd. Is this stuff really that outdated that I can't even load fast anymore?? Or would just a video card update do the trick? Keep in mind I am running on a 26" monitor at 1336x768 resolution.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

your gameing experience would be improved by getting a better video card then getting the rest.
your cpu aint too bad, just a little more overclocking and you will be set.

are you running vista or xp?

what do you plan to spend on it?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

I am running xp. I was planning on going with a 9800gtx+, so kind of that $150 range as far as a gpu upgrade.

I have tried to push my cpu and OC more, and I even have a huge aftermarket cooler with a 120mm fan, but if I up my FSB anymore than it is, it gets unstable and crashes. I had posted many threads awhile back and nobody was really able to help me OC it more.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

go with the 9800GTX+ and then get a e7300, or something similar, later on down the road
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

I am starting to put together two builds that I believe I could achieve. One is amd, one is intel. I am not particular towards one or the other really, I just want to save as much money as possible.

here is the amd rig-

110
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-DS4 AM2&#43;&#47;AM2 AMD 790X ATX Ultra Durable II AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

phenom x3 119.99
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 8750 Toliman 2.4GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2&#43; 95W Triple-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

2g ram 34
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 2GB &#40;2 x 1GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 &#40;PC2 8500&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Intel Build

mobo intel 134
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

119.99
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

2g ram 34
Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 2GB &#40;2 x 1GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 &#40;PC2 8500&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

The intel build is slightly more expensive, I'm not sure what the better performer here would be.

I have a hdd and a 500 watt ultra x-finity psu. technically I could just use those, and I could pull out my 3 gigs of ddr2 pc6400 ram. I still need a case, (my current one is a bit small) but other than that I'm set.

Should I get new ram, or just use my existing, is there much of an increase to go to the pc 8500?
And then is my psu enough? Or should I get a new one, and which one would you recommend and what wattage?

By the way, I really appreciate your help, you have responded to a lot of my posts.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Puressence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 137
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

Okay, please be gentle, but I thought map loading i.e. long load times had a lot to do with hard drive speed. Would he notice shorter times with a faster HDD or SSD or is it primarily the video card that is holding him up?
Puressence is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

The Empire Total War demo took a long time to load up for me as well, same with a few of my friends. How does it do during the actual game?
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

^^ possibly, most likely the ram and cpu are slowing the loading times. and it is a beta after all

and the intel build is def the best over the two.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

All right thanks. If you go to AMD Phenom X3 8750 Black Edition 2400Mhz 3.5MB HD875ZWCGHBOX at TigerDirect.com

and scroll down, it has a processor performance thing. It says vs a 2.4ghz dual core from intel, the x3 performs slightly better. it is also a Black edition which I could easily overclock. is the intel still a better build? And i guess last thing and then you no longer have to be bother by me, what wattage would be safe for a powersupply? 550? 600? I wouldn't think more, and where's a good site to get a cheap one?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Game demo embarrasses my pc!

^ tigerdirect is stupid. that is the older phenom. the e7300 outerorforms it, unless the app being used is made for 3 or more threads.

the e7300 will overclock more probly 4ghz or more.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

that is a good psu. but you would only need a good 500W psu to power what you are going to build.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source 2D game creation framework trying to fill various positions *screenshots* mvBarracuda Programming 28 01-22-2009 10:55 AM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Game pads (not controllers) worth it? Ind3siszive PC Gaming 1 06-05-2008 12:05 AM
Game Tuesday Osiris PC Gaming 1 06-03-2008 01:29 PM
stalker robina_80 PC Gaming 14 09-04-2007 08:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.