Gainward Bliss 512Mb 6800GS AGP Golden Sample - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default Gainward Bliss 512Mb 6800GS AGP Golden Sample

I'm thinking of buying this beast, how much of an improvement d'y'all thinkit'd make to my bf2 performance (I mean graphically, I know it's not gonna make me play any better!!) if I just added it to my existing system (see sig)?

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=392226

I currently get about 30-ish FPS with everything on low/off @ 1024x768.

When I play, my 2600+ is at 100% all the time. I know I need to upgrade that too, but I want to do the Graphics card first.

Thanks guys,

B
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Well I just had a look around and that seems like a good deal if you're sticking with AGP.

You will see notable performance increases for sure, but I would upgrade that CPU, and maybe upgrade to 2gig RAM (BF2 likes to chew-up the RAM)

In conclusion.. go for it mate
__________________

__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Cool, that's pretty much all i needed. Roll on midnight when my pay goes into my account......

Thanks very much for your quick response and if anyone else has any opinions/advice, tell me before midnight GMT!!!

B
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

You wqill see a huge peformance increase from you 9800 to that 6800gs.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Hope you enjoy it, my Gainward Bliss 6800GS is friggin awesome!
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 05:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Right, I bought the card, installed it, installed the latest drivers, and got an aquamark3 score of 21000 (10000+ less than with my 9800).
So I installed the drivers that came with the card-->same score. OCed it to 535/1.3 and got 24000.

Surely this card should be killing the 9800, even on my 2600+ based system?

Any suggestions?

B.
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

thats odd...Your 6800 should blow the 9800 out of the water...

Whats the specs on the psu?

EDIT: Change your sig
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Yeah, I know about the sig! Haven't got round to it yet!

The PSU is a cheap 480w one with only 16A on the 12v rail, but I've tried aquamark3 with just the HDD and 6800 plugged in and get the same results, and i can't believe the card and HDD use nearly 200 watts between them.... Or maybe they do?
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Sorry to double post, but here's the power consumption table...

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...-6800gs_3.html
__________________

__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.