GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2007, 04:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

I was wondering if the DS3 1.0 will have a problem running 4x1GB of Ballistix 6400 4-4-4-12 D9's. I heard that the DS3 have issues with the D9's, but all these problems were dates around 6 months ago before any of the newer BIOS, not sure if they are still existent. Just want to make sure my sticks will work before I get the board. Thanks.
__________________

mkonjibhu is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

i don't think it would.....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i don't think it would.....
How about the 3.3 rev?
mkonjibhu is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 08:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

i don't think they will have any issues... unless the ram type (ddr2-xxx speed)isn't supported....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

I currently have the 1.0 version and have ddr2 800 (4x1GB 5-5-5-15) installed with no worries, but the OS only sees 3.5 GB of it.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
I currently have the 1.0 version and have ddr2 800 (4x1GB 5-5-5-15) installed with no worries, but the OS only sees 3.5 GB of it.
Thats because you have a 32bit operating system. You will need a 64bit OS to see any more of it.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

Just trying to make sure, because I heard there were quite a few people having issues with having either D9 based sticks, or 4GB installed. If there isn't any issues with it, then great, because this is the MB I wanted to buy.
mkonjibhu is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 09:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

Dont buy that board. Get the DS3R P35 instead. Shouldnt be that much more expensive, and it is a better overclocker and is also future compatible with Intel's forthcoming Penryn CPUs.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 09:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's?

Well I found a really nice deal on the DS3, which is why I was considering it over the DS3R. Also, the DS3R is a bit expensive for me at the moment. If I were to go for P35, I might go towards Biostar. I hear they overclock like crazy, just not sure on their support...
__________________

mkonjibhu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.