G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
dude112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

I know the G.Skill HZ's are really good but are they are also more expensive.
I'm gonna use my rig mostly for gaming but I'm not playing it on max resolution. Have also never OC'ed before and won't do it for a while until my computer get's a bit slow and even then won't try to go to the max.

I'm planning on building a computer that will at least last for 2-3 years without any upgrading. Are the HZ's still the ones to get or should i get other ones?
__________________

__________________
Finished:
Case: Fractal Design R4 \ PSU: Corsair TX-650 V2\ Mobo: Asrock Z75 Pro 3
Processor: Intel i5 3570K Stock
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600C9 (2x 4GB) \ Videocard: Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
SSD: Samsung 830 \ HDD: Samsung SpinPoint F1 500GB \ DVD-RW: 1x LG
Speakers: Logitech (2.1)\ Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM
Keyboard: MS Comfort Curve\ Mouse: Logitech MX 518
dude112 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

Here is a cheaper alternative, that is just as good, if not, better than the HZs, for the price:
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

Lol, I opt for the Crucial Ballistix. When did TF move from the HZ's to the Ballistix's?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Lol, I opt for the Crucial Ballistix. When did tech forums move from the HZ's to the Ballistix's?
Its the new fade for the month.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

It's been moving to Ballistix ever since, I often recommended it...lol jk...but I have been doing it for some time now. They are cheaper and can do just as good. Ballistix hasn't got the rep, compared to HZs before, because Crucial use to be so expensive.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

here's another option that is the same price as b1g's crucial and will also do just as well...
you guys know what it is lol:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

comes down to product loyalty now.

peter we switched cos now the price of the other good brands are lower then the HZ and they are evenly matched performance-wise. when gskill was half the price of everything else, it was a bomb a$$ deal. now its no big deal. and to be honest, im not nearly as impressed with my HZ as i had hoped. they're good, dont get me wrong.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

my g.skill runs at 1000 5-5-5-15 at only 2.1volts...i just want another set of RAM and i would get the ballstix, but having 2 different sets of ram might have issues..or should i just go ahead and jump on the ballistix and oc to ddr2-1000 with all four chips
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

not to be a one-upper but the xms2 in my possesion does 4-4-4-12 @ 1000mhz pretty easy. i can run my HZ that high with those timings. but it wont do 4-4-4-12 that high.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

always use identical sticks of ram, i have had HUGE problems with using different brands in the past. Unless you can find proof that gskill and crucial is compatible dont do it
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: G.Skill HZ's or other 2GB 800MHZ?

I just sent my Ballistix to 1200/5-5-5-15-2T, and it did it pretty easily, under stock voltage. But then I like it 1000/4-4-4-12-2T better, for some reason.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill.... Cunjo Overclocking and Modding 9 07-11-2007 01:23 AM
G.skill at 129.99 Jumping_Bean514 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-29-2007 08:17 AM
So...went with the G.Skill Ram Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-08-2007 06:43 AM
Kingston unveils ultra low-latency 800MHz memory Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-21-2007 05:47 PM
G.Skill Ram Series sammybaines New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 09:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.