G.Skill HZ RAM Bios bootup says 5300 not 6400? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2007, 10:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: G.Skill HZ RAM Bios bootup says 5300 not 6400?

Maybe you overclocked it too much and messed up the RAM's information.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: G.Skill HZ RAM Bios bootup says 5300 not 6400?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Maybe you overclocked it too much and messed up the RAM's information.
No, i think my CPU is overclocked too much and my RAM is not, because it is showing in the BIOS as PC2-6400 if I change my overclocks.

Maybe the BIOS downclocks the RAM if its not as overclocked as the CPU FSB or something

Right now running orthos with 360FSB x 9 Multiplier 1.375VCore FSB Termination at 1.4V.
RAM at 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 timing, 2.0Volts

CPU Temp on both Everest and SpeedFan are both the same and hasnt gone over 50C yet compared to the overclock I have on my sig which is around 50C at full load with orthos.

Thats odd because my VCore is higher right now than the one on my sig and the temps are not as high. Hm... maybe because my AirConditioner is ON. Motherboard temp is only 40C.

Ima try going 400MHz FSB, but with that, 1000MHz for RAM it does the same thing, its PC2-5300 not PC2-6400. So if my CPU is overclocked more than the RAM, the PC2-Number goes down, But if the RAM and CPU is about the same overclock the PC2-Number goes up.

I ran it at stock too all stock ratings and its running as PC2-6400.

Maybe Ill try running it again at 400MHz x 8 1.3625Volts VCore with FSB Termination at 1.4Volts and RAM at say.... 1600MHz? 5-5-5-15 timing is that gonna work? 2:1 ratio? or maybe 1200MHz instead of 1000MHz. Ima give that a try to see if it works. Gonna brush my teeth first to see if this setting is stable with Orthos. Hopefully the setting I just mentioned in this paragraph will run it at PC2-6400 not PC2-5300.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 11:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: G.Skill HZ RAM Bios bootup says 5300 not 6400?

im not sure, but no need to bump after like 30 min pinoy
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 11:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: G.Skill HZ RAM Bios bootup says 5300 not 6400?

Hm... Okay, I cant run the settings I have on my sig with 1200MHz RAM and 2.0V didnt try 2.1 Volts but when I tried the 2.0Volts I got an error something about checksum and file curropt. Not sure what it means, but I just put it back to the settings I have on my sig even though it says only PC2-5300 on the BIOS POST message. Oh well, its performing better memory wise compared to the 360FSB x 9 Multiplier which is 3.240GHz with 1080MHz RAM and BIOS POST Message says PC2-6400. So I guess Ill just keep it the way it is on my sig PC2-5300
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.skill HZ Ram and P35 DS3R Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-07-2007 06:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.