FX62 and 5000+ for socket 939 too! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2006, 05:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
So, the 5000+ would be an equivalent to a 5.0GHz P4?
not really. more like 2x 4.1-4.15ghz p4's
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

AM2 is dead already ^-^.
Everyone should just wait for the intel core 2's.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 08:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Well these will drive s939 prices down aswell
Waphlez is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 09:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I doubt I'll get to upgrade until the generation after AM2 or so, so I ain't really worried about how good AM2 is.

But, if the s939 prices drop low enough, I might be able to scrape enough together to snag a really sweet CPU before they vanish... which won't be soon.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 10:01 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aaronkupen
AM2 is dead already ^-^.
Everyone should just wait for the intel core 2's.
AM2 is a socket, not a CPU. yes, the current CPU's in socket AM2 are not that great, but they are only first release, and they still have some bugs

AM2 supports DDR2 and will be able to support DDR3 when AMD makes the memory controller for it.

AM2 is what AMD's CPU's are going to use, probabbly for quite a while, especially considering the potential to support DDR3
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 10:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

But you must agree, Apokalipse, that the current memory controllers on AM2 are seriously flawed...
Yoad is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 11:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes they are. like I said, the current AM2 CPU's still have bugs in them.
the memory controllers they have now are adapted from the DDR memory controllers, so they don't really agree with the DDR2 speeds.
not because they can't handle the speeds, but because they are are kinda out of sync with the numbers, like 333MHZ etc, where DDR1 memory controllers use speeds like 200MHZ (a nice round number)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 02:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Quote:
But you must agree, Apokalipse, that the current memory controllers on AM2 are seriously flawed...
And Intels DDR2 controler isnt? Its worse than their PC100/133 controler and worse than their first DDR controler on the P4. DDR2 dosent give a boost in speed really in any platform because its not being taken advantage of. When i see either one take those speeds for granted and do it right w/ tight timings THEN ill be impressed. Right now its just a sport for raw processing power and its silly. Who can make the fastest processor isnt the game anymore. ITs who can make the best insides that support everything else and make them go faser. Its like you may have a nice shiny new water firetruck but if the fire hydrant has ****ty pipes then the firetruck is kinda useless w/ low pressure. Yea i know bad analogy but it still gets the point across.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 03:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

First off I know AM2 is a socket, but my point was that intel core 2's are shown to dominate at pretty much everything. Also, if they planned on switching to AM2, why are they making new 939's?

I personally just don't see a reason to get a socket AM2 processor now when the new intels are coming out in july.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 03:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

The HT was raised from 200mhz to 333mhz. One would think that would eliminate that problem.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.