fx5200 possibly worst card ever - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 10:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I feel sorry for the two of you who use it then. My TI 500 runs better than it, literaly.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

it's really not that bad in all honesty, people just make it out to be bad i think. i don't have to use it anymore though, i built my computer. i'm using the 7900gt
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Well lucky you then! Lol. Ive used 2 FX5200s and ive fried both of them. They sucked so bad the integrated video on my old net machine monitor was better!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
I have that card, It's not that bad, it runs the games I need it to: The Suffering, counter strike and such. The only problem I came across with it is it tends to get hot quick because the fan on it is absolutely horrible. I'll probably be sticking with this thing until my next build atleast.
Mine doesn't even have a fan, lol.
I replaced my PoV FX5200 128MB with my Leadtek Ti4200 64MB. Primarely because the FX5200 is broken and displays weird lines at higher refresh rates or high resolutions. The Ti4200 runs faster, but it takes a bit longer to get smooth, probably because of the lower memory. The Ti4200 also has higher clock speeds. It's a Leadtek Winfast A250LE Ti4200, which stands for "Light Edition" I guess?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 05:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
2. The MX family is worser then the FX...
you're comparing two different generations there.

And yeah, the FX5200 IS that bad....it doesn't come close to being meant for gaming. Most of the people who say it ran stuff fine doesn't realize that it automatically turns off a lot of the eye candy, ESPECIALLY in a game like CoD2......I'm sorry but theres no way in 'heck' that an FX5200 played Cod2 at 'relatively high settings'......for one, it defaults down to DX8 so theres eye candy gone right there.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
my dad has a fx5200 in his computer, and before i got this one i used to play COD2 on it with fairly high settings. it was a pentium 3.0. the only game i couldn't play was AOE 3, granted i haven't tried BF2 or FEAR or anything on it - it'd prolly die.
COD2 runs fine for u because it is running on DX7. If u switch it to DX9, ur fx5200 will not handle it.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

lol i have a x300 with no fan.... i feel like im in a slideshow when i play any game..
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 01:32 PM   #18 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya the fx5200 really is bad. just look at the benchmarks i posted at the top and its proof. so many ppl got screwed over with that card. every game runs so much better now. they should have a recall or something
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 03:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Quote:
And yeah, the FX5200 IS that bad....it doesn't come close to being meant for gaming. Most of the people who say it ran stuff fine doesn't realize that it automatically turns off a lot of the eye candy, ESPECIALLY in a game like CoD2......I'm sorry but theres no way in 'heck' that an FX5200 played Cod2 at 'relatively high settings'......for one, it defaults down to DX8 so theres eye candy gone right there.
Exactly why my Geforce3 TI500 outperforms it
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-23-2006, 04:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
COD2 runs fine for u because it is running on DX7. If u switch it to DX9, ur fx5200 will not handle it.
yeah i guess so, but it was still playable with decent framrates.
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.