FX-60...Overkill? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Would you put your keyboard through the dishwasher?
Yes 6 50.00%
No 6 50.00%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 06:55 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bryan64
My present comp ran me $2000 summer 2003 and this one will run me $4000, so what, it means nothing as long as I am happy, thats all that matters.
You're an idiot and excessively rich if you're buying a FX-60 just because you can. Its just plain stupid.

The FX series is ONLY for those who don't have the brains to overclock.

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
If you OC an FX-60 no "regular" CPU will keep up.
Negatory. The High-End processors (FX-55,-57,-60) run very very hot as it is, and its generally not recommended, or possible, to overclock them. Its true that they give the highest ever overclocks, but thats under liquid nitrogen, dry ice, or VapoChill setups, nothing close to what air, or ever water, can achieve. You can maybe get an FX-60 to 2.8GHz before you start running out of degrees celcius , but you can do the same thing with an Opteron 165 or 170. Generally the overclock that you get with a extremely high-end processor can be duplicated by a much cheaper processor.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

Actualy the FX-Series is pretty much for ppl that are like over at XS TO OC. Also, if you only game on medium and use photo shop a little bit youd be better off w/ a Wal Mart computer.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:14 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

waste of $$$$$
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:53 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I think its just a waste of money, only if you know how to oc, because u can easily oc a 165 to those speeds for $650 cheaper, but if you dont oc and a hardcore gamer its definitly worth it, but that's the only time that i believe that this cpu is any bit useful.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

I just love how everybody wants to bash the best processor AMD puts out. Amazes me really.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
The only real advantage the FX series has is it's unlockable multipliers which is useful for overclocking.
If you can't OC that much to start with, what's the point of being able to unlock different multipliers?

Go with an Opteron 165.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:02 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
I just love how everybody wants to bash the best processor AMD puts out. Amazes me really.
I don't think anyone is bashing it, of course it is a great processor. We are talking about price/performance ratio. It definitely fails in that respect. Do you think $400 is worth 200Mhz?
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:08 PM   #28 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

For some ppl yes. There ARE ppl out there that wont touch their processor to OC it even if they have another one being afraid of frying it. So, for them, its the best way to go.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

You can save so much money though, and especially with Opterons, you can't hurt your CPU by OCing ...
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 09:57 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
For some ppl yes. There ARE ppl out there that wont touch their processor to OC it even if they have another one being afraid of frying it. So, for them, its the best way to go.
Like I said, its only for idiots and those without the brains to overclock.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.