fx-57 vs. 4800? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2006, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default fx-57 vs. 4800?

I'm thinking about selling my trusty old fx-57 for a x2 4800+? What do you guys think? I made this decision shortly after my fx-57 scored ~5000 mflops on a benchmark and my friends x2 4400+ scored somewhere above 14000 mflops. Even now, I don't understand why he beat me so badly, almost tripled my score. Wth? Maybe I'm under estimating the power of dual core? Or the the fact he had 64kb more of L1 cache? Would that really affect the score that much? Because the equation "2.2 GHz + 2.2 GHz = 4.4 GHz = not 3.0GHz(3)" (my fx-57 is OC'd 200MHz). I know that right now, for gaming, an fx-57 wins, but later on down the road the dual core is going to own and my fx-57 isn't exactly increasing in value...... lol........ *a tear falls*.
I didn't know dual core had that much of an advantage or I would've went with a dual core right away.
Some more questions I have about dual core would be stuff like.... Can Windows XP utilize the dual coreness? Like, for example, I do a LOT of video transcoding (every week another Naruto and Bleach episode comes out and I have to transcode it for my ipod. It takes a good 8-10 minutes with my OC'd fx-57) and file compression (usually ~2 GB at a time... so it's a lot).
Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Before upgrading anything I strongly recommend that anyone take a few seconds and ask themselves, does my current computer do everything I need it to do?
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Don't do that. Try to go a different direction. Conroes are nice very nice maybe you should get that. IF you dont, get the 4800 because you will have your walet ful of money.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

mine doesnt!!! LOL
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Before upgrading anything I strongly recommend that anyone take a few seconds and ask themselves, does my current computer do everything I need it to do?
**** straight. Unless upgrading is a hobby .

But yeah if you are going to upgrade go for a 4400 (can oc past 4800 speeds no problem)....or go all out and go conroe
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Lazer_viking's conscience: Does my computer do everything I need it to do?
Lazer_viking: Well, yah.... but....
Lazer_viking's conscience: Then why are you considering an upgrade?
Lazer_viking: Well, because I want to do stuff faster.
Lazer_viking's conscience: Are you sure the 4800+ is going to do stuff faster?
Lazer_viking: I'm not sure about dual core. That's why I asked on the forum.
Lazer_viking's conscience: Well what did they say?
Lazer_viking: They said I had to ask myself, "Does my current computer do everything I need it to do?". So that's why I asked you.
Lazer_viking's conscience: Oh, well find out about this dual core stuff some more and then we can decide for ourselves if we need to upgrade.

-------------

I asked myself, and he said before he could make a decision he wanted to know about dual-core then we will make the decision ourselves wether or not I need to upgrade. So any thoughts on FX-57 vs. 4800+? Wait, isn't that what this post was about anyway?

edit: wow three people posted while I was typing this... I didnt even spend that long on it either.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2802&p=4
Does that help make you decide.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
**** straight. Unless upgrading is a hobby .

But yeah if you are going to upgrade go for a 4400 (can oc past 4800 speeds no problem)....or go all out and go conroe
Upgrading is a hobby.
4400 can OC to a 4800, but then that means a 4800 can OC even higher.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr DMoney
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2802&p=4
Does that help make you decide.
Well, no, it doesn't help me decide. I've stuck with AMD because I know their GHz system. I don't know how to compare an AMD to an Intel. I know that intel have faster clocks, but execute less instructions per clock. So a 2GHz intel gets beaten by a 1.6 GHz AMD. Does anyone know the "formula" for AMD -> intel clocks?

edit: by the way, the I cry at that 32kb+32kb L1 cache on the e6300... pathetic imho.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

The thing he wants to do it to have the fastest amd chip out there. My responce is this, Intel has it. If you want to sell your fx chip for a 4800 you are out of your mind. Not because you want to change it is because you bout the fx chip in the first place. They are not worth it and yes the 4800 is surperior to the fx chip you now have. But if you are going to get a new chip just through in a motherborad with is and go conroe. Please go conroe, you will be so happy with it. I know intel doesn't have pc builders hearts but once you see it in power your friend would be so god damm jelos he will probally buy the thing as well. Atleast look into it.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.