FX-57 vs 4000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2006, 03:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Arrow FX-57 vs 4000

Now, i have purchased the AMD 4000 with the san diego core. i looked on newegg to see the comparible differences between the FX and the 4000 and, everything is identical, why is that? what exactly am i getting more then aside the 2.8 versus the some 2.6 or so on the 4000?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 06:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

an unlocked multiplier on the FX-57.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"][COLOR=\"Red\"]Case:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MountainMods U2-UFO[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]PSU:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] PCP&C 1kW EPS12V[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Motherboard:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] ASUS P5NSLI[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] (Yeah, I know!)[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Processor:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Retail Core 2 Duo X6800[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] Week 26/B2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]RAM:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 DDR2-800[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]VGA:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 1x eVGA 7950GX2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Sound Card:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] SB X-Fi XM[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]HDD:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0/1x 500GB WD Caviar[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Optical:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Plextor DVD-R DL PX-716AL[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Speakers:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Logitech z-5500[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Fans:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 9x YL D12SM-12[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Lime\"]Water-Cooling:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MCP355 w/AlphaCool top/PA120.3/AQX MP-05 SP LE/Silverprop Cyclone NexusSX chipset block[/COLOR]
[/SIZE]
dwarf is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 06:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah, Not worth it. Fx suck for the price.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the 4000+ is 2.4ghz vs. the FX-57's 2.8ghz which is a significant difference. certainly not significant enough on it's own to justify the price tag. the premium you pay is for an unlocked "clock multiplier" and the higher standards of quality control.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

And they both get own3d by a $215 Intel.
The General is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Ok, so that's possibly the biggest difference as a reaccuring theme. and General, as much as i have respect for intel, i have the amd, and particularly don't care for the conroe being so over priced. now, the clock multiplier means what as far as performance?
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

intel lacks upgradability thats y i like amd yes a 215 dollar intel chip but then u need a new mobo so its not really worth it anyway comes to about 350 and the new conroes are new teh 4000+ is fairlie old and in gamming outperforms most pentium d i know when my friend went to duel core he got a 4200+ he got higher fps wit his 4000+ single core and the 3800+ outepreformes pentium d extreme but yes teh new conroe chips are kick *** if u have money
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
the clock multiplier means what as far as performance?
The unlocked multi on the fx chips means that you have some more flexibility when overclocking. This means that you don't have to worry about the overclockability of your RAM, or the use of memory dividers. You can just use the mulit associated with the clock speed of the CPU to increase the clock speed.

Quote:
intel lacks upgradability thats y i like amd yes a 215 dollar intel chip but then u need a new mobo so its not really worth it anyway comes to about 350 and the new conroes are new teh 4000+ is fairlie old and in gamming outperforms most pentium d i know when my friend went to duel core he got a 4200+ he got higher fps wit his 4000+ single core and the 3800+ outepreformes pentium d extreme but yes teh new conroe chips are kick *** if u have money
What?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
The unlocked multi on the fx chips means that you have some more flexibility when overclocking. This means that you don't have to worry about the overclockability of your RAM, or the use of memory dividers. You can just use the mulit associated with the clock speed of the CPU to increase the clock speed.


What?
I understand now, of course, the little rant he was talking on the pentiums makes more sense to me, i understand the technology n such, but i'am so much used to reading up on AMD's then P4's. and with dual core technology out now it's a wonder of what i could get. i don't plan on overclocking my current 4000, but either a dual core or turion in a laptop would be nice.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2802&p=4
Hope this will change someones mind about conore.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.