Future plans. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default Future plans.

Alright, I don't think I've actually seen a thread like this one, so try not to shoot me :P

Just recently bought the comp in my sig, and for the most part I like it, but I'm unsatisfied. The CPU is single core, the RAM is slow.. well I like the graphics card. It will all tide me over until....

DirectX 10.

Yes, this is a DirectX 10 topic.

I want to be one of the first to get the DirectX 10 cards, and I want a powerful system to back it up.

Basically what I'm looking at is a Conroe (Core 2 Duo.. whatever.. blow me) build.

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128323
Now the motherboard I'm not too sure about. Are we still waiting for cheaper, better boards to come out? $300+ (I live in Australia) for a motherboard seems a little extreme for me. So this will probably change.


RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134124
With Vista coming out, I would possibly consider getting two of these packs, and having 4GB of RAM for Vista to take advantage of, and probably hog.

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003
Pretty standard stuff really.. but not willing to pay the extra few hundred for the 6700.

PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194005
I know very little about PSU's to be honest, but Enermax seems to be a recommended brand, and with 2x 22a +12v, that seems pretty good.

Graphics card:
Well.. we don't know anything about this yet :P

Of course for all this, I will buy sufficient cooling to allow me to overclock the **** out of that CPU and RAM.

This list is subject to change obviously, as newer, faster, and perhaps cheaper hardware comes out in these next few months.

I guess this is a really standard post.. meh.

Also - Is there any good DDR 1000 RAM out? What sort of compatibility do motherboards have for this stuff?
__________________

Khann is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Be sure you have a 600W PSU or greater. It looks like these DX10 cards will be power hogs. Hopefully these preliminary rumours are just that: only rumours.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Ah crap, didn't even think of a PSU. Will add that to the list now.

There.. PSU added:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194005
I know very little about PSU's to be honest, but Enermax seems to be a recommended brand, and with 2x 22a +12v, that seems pretty good.
Khann is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.