Fun Computer Rig. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2007, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default Fun Computer Rig.

I'm going for mid-price range, with super EASE of use and upgradeability (sp?).


Case- I really like the large side fan and the reviews for the PSU aren't that bad........... I won't be doing any LAN Partying.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811164081


MOBO- A certain mid-range mobo but is pretty upgradeable. Also 80% of the reviews are 4-5 eggs.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128017


CPU- Ok I know it's last generation but I'm coming from a Dell 1.8 celeron.... with 256 ram...... it's >100$ and the CPU I really want is around the corner. The Core 2 Duo 6420.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116253

VIDEO- I feel safe going with the same brand Video Card as Mobo (in that I won't run into compatibility issues)? Is this ignorant? Either way it seems to be a fairly good card and with the 25cm fan blowing on the huge heatsink I think it should be ok.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125028

RAM- This is a place I could use some help with..... am I better off going with 1 stick at 1gb? or 2 sticks with 512mb each? And this is what I have found that seems to be pretty good.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085

HARD Drive- I don't have much interest in video editing or anything like that and should the need arise I can always add another Hard Drive, so I went for a low price goodie.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136036

CD/DVD- No need for anything fancy.. read-write. You know the basics.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106045



Thats the lot of it. I have been reading and searching for the right parts, hoping to put a system together that will be stable and an easy first build.

Any input would be great thanks.
__________________

Casanova is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 63
Default

consider getting 2 80 gig harddrives and setting up RAID.

Also if you could spend the extra money go with a mobo that supports sli. That way you can use your old gpu when you upgrade and just use sli. Also dont worry about getting a gpu thats the same brand as your mobo because it isn't a problem.

for ram 2 sticks of 512 would be a decent differance just for dual channel. Unless your planning to upgrade your ram in less than a year.
If thats the case get the 1 gig stick and another later.

Good luck with it.
__________________

WCAS is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Get these instead:

WD 160gb 16mb cache : Its OEM but your mobo will come with a sata cable so there is no need for the retail. The 16mb will make a difference too.

evga 7600gt : I don't know about the passive cooling gigabyte uses on their gpu. Evga also offers an upgrade program where you exchange your current gpu for a better one for the difference in price you paid for the first one. Ex. say you got that gpu and wanted an 8600gt (coming out in a while) later and the price for it is $200(just guessing) then you would pay $90 for it after you sent the 7600gt back to evga. It only lasts 90 days after purchase though.

dvd burner : All your missing is the light scribe which as i understand it isn't worth it. Up to you, just pointing it out.

Never go with the psu that comes with the case (especially a $40 case ):

froton 400w : Very good psu for the price.

Every thing else looks good. I understand your in a budget and went with the pentium instead of a C2D, but the e4300 should drop in price in a month or two after the new lower end conroes come out. If you can wait.

Edit: don't get two 80gb HDD's for raid. One, your board doesn't support raid, and two, its a waste of money when you could use it for a better gpu, cpu, or more ram.

edit edit: didn't see your mention about the e6420. I guess thats good but why waste money on a cpu when the newer one is right around the corner. Unless your going to use the pentium in another build.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

^I AGREE^
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
Get these instead:

WD 160gb 16mb cache : Its OEM but your mobo will come with a sata cable so there is no need for the retail. The 16mb will make a difference too.


edit edit: didn't see your mention about the e6420. I guess thats good but why waste money on a cpu when the newer one is right around the corner. Unless your going to use the pentium in another build.


I like that harddrive but being new those three letters made me nervous! (OEM) but if the only difference is that it doesn't come with the Sata cable then thats nothing!

And why waste? Because I can no longer wait!!! You ever use a intel celeron 1.8............................... AGHHHHHHH I think I'll actually burn this computer in the middle of the street.
Casanova is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default

I've been using a 2.2 celeron from like the past 3.5 years.. Amazing how horrible this thing is. Waiting till the glorious day of April 22nd when I will finally order my new parts.

Anyways.. OEM basically means that you won't get the fancy box that most are sold in and a couple of add-ins that you don't need (like the SATA cable.) It'll just come in bubble wrap but it is still new.
andrus is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

That ram was an excellent choice as I have the same ram and one stick can hit 588mhz at 5-5-5-15 on 2.15v.

G.SKILL FTW!

heh good build but go with OEM as stated once the only thing it doesnt have in an SATA cable and your mobo should come with that.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.