Full tower or Mid tower?

Status
Not open for further replies.

900RR

In Runtime
I'm trying to decide on a case and can't decide between getting a mid like the antec 900, or a full tower like the coolermaster Stacker 830... what are the pros and cons of each?
I have plenty of area so I'm not worried about desk space. I want a lot of cooling so I can OC. I'm not sure how many 5.25" bays I'll need. Maybe DVD-RW, DVD-ROM, multi-card reader, and possibly some sort of temperature display / fan control? What do most people use to keep track of their temperatures without going to bios? I'm kinda new to performance computers but I'd like to setup something like that.

For cooling reasons I prefer full towers, for size reasons I like mid towers. The Antec 900 is an awesome case and I've always liked cooler masters, overall if you can I'd go with the full tower and IMO for most enthusiast systems full tower is the way to go.

what do you guys think of a control like this?
aerocool-gatewatch-silver.jpg

Newegg.com - AeroCool GateWatch-SV Silver GateWatch with LCD display - Retail

i'm getting a tuniq tower cpu cooler with 120mm fan and I'd like to be able to monitor the cpu temp and adjust the coolers fan speed accoridnglt. And also control the case fans speeds.
It says it can control 4 fans, but the CM stacker has 4 case fans in the side cover alone... could I put all 4 of those fans on 1 channel? and control them together?
It takes up 2 x 5.25" bays, which pushes me towards full case..

Here is the gatewatch 2... looks like you can monitor cpu, gpu, hdd and case temperature (or fan speed? or both?) all at the same tim ewith this one.
aerocool_gatewatch2s.jpg
anyone using something like this?

go full tower, im preaty sure you can get adapters to run multiple fans on one conection, but the fans will all run same speed, that is the one connected thru the adapter.