FSB:RAM Ratio question - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2008, 09:48 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Sorry to bump old thread but i figure it'd be better than starting new one and ppl telling me to search.

My question, If i had the new intel 45nm q9450 with a 1333mhz FSB, would the speed of my system overall be any different if i had DDR2-800, or DDR2-667.
My thinking is that these two communicate with each other and can only run as fast as the slowest of the two. So DDR2-667 matches the 1333mhz FSB 1:1 all stock. While DDR2-800 will be running faster than the 1333mhz FSB stock but effectively wont be running at ddr2-800 speed because its faster than the 1333mhz FSB and the FSB cant keep up. Am i wrong?
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 10:06 PM   #32 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

veedub said earlier, that if you get RAM that runs faster than whatever makes it 1:1, that is better. You will still go faster will that ddr2800 than with 667. the 1:1 does not make that much of diff. Are you really gonna get that q9450?

and like B1 said, just OC to make it 1:1 (the processor)
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 10:07 PM   #33 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkolk View Post
Sorry to bump old thread but i figure it'd be better than starting new one and ppl telling me to search.

My question, If i had the new intel 45nm q9450 with a 1333mhz FSB, would the speed of my system overall be any different if i had DDR2-800, or DDR2-667.
My thinking is that these two communicate with each other and can only run as fast as the slowest of the two. So DDR2-667 matches the 1333mhz FSB 1:1 all stock. While DDR2-800 will be running faster than the 1333mhz FSB stock but effectively wont be running at ddr2-800 speed because its faster than the 1333mhz FSB and the FSB cant keep up. Am i wrong?
It sometimes depends on what ratio you have the FSB:RAM set on, in the BIOS. If you have it set on 1:1, the DDR2-800 will run at 667, to match the 1333 FSB. If not, and the 800 is running at a faster speed, you can just overclock the FSB, to meet the 800's speed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 10:09 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

but even if the ratio is not 1:1, how can the memory be effectively running faster than the FSB. Don't these two talk to each other directly?
And im talking everything stock, so not changing anything in the bios ratios. (Though i dont have this setup and dont know what the stock ratio would be)

Noclue98: I plan on getting the Q9450 sometime this summer.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 10:13 PM   #35 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkolk View Post
but even if the ratio is not 1:1, how can the memory be effectively running faster than the FSB. Don't these two talk to each other directly?
And im talking everything stock, so not changing anything in the bios ratios. (Though i dont have this setup and dont know what the stock ratio would be)
The RAM is effectively running at it's stock speed faster than the FSB, because it's told to do so. It's like it's hard wired, into it's head, that 400MHz is the speed they're suppose to run at. Unless it is told to run at another speed, by you changing the divider.

On stock, everything will run at their stock speed. And so the 1333FSB will run at 333MHz, and the RAM will run at 400MHz. They don't necessarily have to walk beside each other, hand in hand, all the time.

For example. When my motherboard is set to default, the FSB is running at 266MHz, while the RAM is running at 400MHz. 12:8 ratio. But you can set them to run 1:1, by changing the FSB:RAM or divider.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propblem gettin fixed aspect ratio DarkLegion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-12-2007 07:49 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Trying to understand the FSB:RAM concept. stainer711 Overclocking and Modding 0 08-08-2007 08:04 PM
How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-01-2007 11:12 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.