FSB:RAM Ratio question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2007, 09:33 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
If you are running at 2:3 that means that your memory multi is 2.5 right now, which is perfectly fine. Don't get hung up on running 1:1 memory:fsb. Just let your memory run at its stated speed unless you are overclocking the cpu.
It means my memory multi is running at 2.5? I don't understand since 266 x 2.5 = 665. My memory multi running at 3.0 makes more sense since 266 x 3 = about 800ish
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenovices View Post
Umm, I think you might be confused about "memory multiplier".

Okay, I will try to help clarify, but I don't know if this will help:

This is your system now:
FSB: 266MHz
FSB:RAM Ratio: 1.5x
RAM speed: 400MHz (266*1.5)
so its running at DDR2-800 because 400*2 = 800

After overclocking:
FSB = 300MHz
Change FSB:RAM ratio to 1:1
Therefore your RAM speed gets downclocked to 300MHz
so now you're running your RAM at DDR2-600.

In case you didn't know, DDR2 says its running at twice the speed it actually is. So for example on your current system, you bought 800MHz RAM, but the RAM is actually only running at 400MHz. The DDR2 technology enables it to double its output. So if you had DDR2-800 at stock and clocked the FSB to 400MHz, you would have a 1:1 FSB:RAM ratio.
But isn't downclocking my ram to 300 mhz give my system a performance hit? Is the 1:1 really worth it?

Heres what further confuses me
Overclocking Quads on Gigabyte P35-DS3R - Page 2 - Guru3D.com Forums

this guy has a 3.2 multiplier ( I don't even have that option it just has a 3 ) and is overclocked 360 x 9 = 3.2 ghz. He says he has a 1:1 ratio, does that mean his ram is running at 1152 mhz?

has anyone ever used auto for memory multiplier?
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:44 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

No, there is no point in running 1:1 unless you are running more than a 400mhz FSB.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 12:17 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
No, there is no point in running 1:1 unless you are running more than a 400mhz FSB.
hmmm is there a general concensus on this?
VampD is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:56 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

IF you are running anything LESS than a 400mhz frontside bus then you will be UNDERclocking ddr2 800 memory. So just leave the memory at stock settings or play with the memory modifier and go for 900is-1000ish mhz if the memory will handle it. Once i get my other 2 sticks of ocz so that im running all 4 sticks of identical memory im going to try to push mine up over 1k rather than stick with the synchronous.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 08:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
IF you are running anything LESS than a 400mhz frontside bus then you will be UNDERclocking ddr2 800 memory. So just leave the memory at stock settings or play with the memory modifier and go for 900is-1000ish mhz if the memory will handle it. Once i get my other 2 sticks of ocz so that im running all 4 sticks of identical memory im going to try to push mine up over 1k rather than stick with the synchronous.
What about my statement: It means my memory multi is running at 2.5? I don't understand since 266 x 2.5 = 665. My memory multi running at 3.0 makes more sense since 266 x 3 = about 800ish

I just need to know for clarification, did I make the mistake or did you when you said my memory multi was running at 2.5?
VampD is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampD View Post
What about my statement: It means my memory multi is running at 2.5? I don't understand since 266 x 2.5 = 665. My memory multi running at 3.0 makes more sense since 266 x 3 = about 800ish

I just need to know for clarification, did I make the mistake or did you when you said my memory multi was running at 2.5?
hmm I'm confused about that myself
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:40 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Yes, you have it right. The memory multiplier depends on the FSB. If you overclock the FSB to 333, then you will need to lower the memory multiplier so that the memory doesnt get overclocked too high.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:46 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Yes, you have it right. The memory multiplier depends on the FSB. If you overclock the FSB to 333, then you will need to lower the memory multiplier so that the memory doesnt get overclocked too high.
Thanks you've been a big help, I now feel a little more confident in my overclocking plans. I just had a few last questions that have gone relatively unanswered:

1. Why don't more people opt for the lower multiplier/higher fsb overclock? Is there a difference between 7 x 400 fsb, 8 x 350 fsb, or 9x 312 fsb? You have to raise the voltage when you up the fsb or multiplier right?

2. Is downclocking the ram like that one guy said a bad idea to achieve a 1:1 ratio? Exactly how important is this 1:1 ratio?

3. Technically if I dont touch any voltages my computers temps should be the same even with a higher fsb right ( assuming it can handle it )
VampD is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:50 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

1) people downclock their multiplier because they are dee dee dees, or are just trying to see what the max fsb the board will handle. Theres 0 reason to lower your multi, because a lower multi and higher fsb only causes more stress on the northbridge.

2) yes downclocking your memory just for 1:1 is a bad idea. Running synchronous is pointless when your memory can handle 800mhz+. 1:1 is overrated.

3) Even without changing your voltage on the CPU, your temps will go up when overclocking.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propblem gettin fixed aspect ratio DarkLegion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-12-2007 07:49 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Trying to understand the FSB:RAM concept. stainer711 Overclocking and Modding 0 08-08-2007 08:04 PM
How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-01-2007 11:12 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.