FSB:RAM Ratio question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2007, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default FSB:RAM Ratio question

I heard someone once say a FSB:RAM Ratio of 1:1 was the best and anything besides that will slow down a computer system. Since I have a q6600 running at stock 2.4 ghz with 2 gigs of ddr800 ram, my BIOS automatically set the ratio to 2:3.

266.66 bus speed x 1.5 = 400 mhz speed the ram is running at

my question is, how significantly slower is my system running due to this? If I overclock should I try to achieve a 1:1 ratio? Is it worth it?
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Unless you are overclocking, leave the ram divider set to auto. I run synchronous (1:1) because i overclocked my q6600 to 3600 which makes my ram run at 800mhz. You definately arent hurting anything by leaving it at 3:2.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 02:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Unless you are overclocking, leave the ram divider set to auto. I run synchronous (1:1) because i overclocked my q6600 to 3600 which makes my ram run at 800mhz. You definately arent hurting anything by leaving it at 3:2.
hmm wait that doesn't make sense, if you overclocked your q6600 to 3.6 ghz that means you have a bus speed of 450 mhz right. If your ddr2 ram is running at 800 mhz then its at 400 mhz. So 450 and 400 isn't 1:1? Your q6600 should be at 3.2 ghz ( 400 mhz bus speed ) to be a 1:1 ratio with your ram.

Am I mistaken?
VampD is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 03:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

last time I checked 400 x 9 was 3600.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 07:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

yeah u need to have the quad at 3.6 with stock ddr800 ram to have a 1:1 ratio
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Well honestly the best ratio is 1:2 (or higher theoretically) on a FSB : RAM ratio. However you need some pretty sick ram to be able to max out a Q6600 and double the ratio so thats why 1:1 is the next best.

Honestly your ram isn't being hurt at that much becuase while it may run at 400 FSB stock, it is being downclocked in speed and timings to do 266 FSB. The lowered timings helps make up for it. However you should overclock not becuase of the 1:1 ratio but becuase your CPU is slower than cheap E2140's that are overclocked right now. Overclocking is a great idea anytime just about.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Ya, with all settings auto, my FSB would be 266 with a 9x multi and memory running at 800. I run 1:1 sync due to the overclock.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
last time I checked 400 x 9 was 3600.
oops I kept thinking the multiplier was x8 for the q6600 not x9

anyone know what the ratios are when the BIOS uses system memory multipliers. Like what does 3.20 mean ratio wise?
VampD is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 06:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

bump anyone know the answer to my question?
VampD is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: FSB:RAM Ratio question

it means that the ram runs 3.20 times faster than your FSB in DDR2....keep it at 2.0 for a 1:1 ratio. That means if your FSB is at 400 and it's at 2.0, your ram would run at DDR2-800 which is where you want it. Basically 2.0 is all you will want to make it a good ratio.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propblem gettin fixed aspect ratio DarkLegion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-12-2007 07:49 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Trying to understand the FSB:RAM concept. stainer711 Overclocking and Modding 0 08-08-2007 08:04 PM
How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-01-2007 11:12 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.