Fried my motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2006, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default Fried my motherboard?

My old processor was an AMD64 3000+ with a K8T Neo2, with the latest BIOS that was only single-core support.

My new processor is an AMD64 X2 4400+, same board.

When I got it (the new processor), I popped it in, thinking it would start up so I could flash the BIOS to MSI's newest for my board, which has dual-core support. However, everything would appear to come on, but my monitor would say "Off Mode in 5 Seconds", so I couldn't get anywhere. A friend told me I should have flashed the BIOS to the dual core support first, then installed the new CPU. So, I got up some courage, took the new CPU/heatsink combo out, popped the old combo back in, and got it working so that I could flash the BIOS, which looked like it went ok. I then accidentally booted to Windows desktop, so I shut it down as quickly as possible and proceeded to put the new CPU/heatsink back in. I booted up and I got the same thing as before -- nothing, just the monitor coming on to tell me it was about to go into Off Mode. I did what my Mobo manual says to do to reset the BIOS settings, and now it won't even come on at all. Pressing the power button does nothing at all. That might just be something totally unrelated, but with my luck, I don't know.

Is "not coming on at all" a symptom of a fried motherboard? Do you guys (more knowledgable than me) think I fried my brand new CPU too, or what?

Here's the two options I have narrowed it down to, because I'm pretty sure something in there is fried.

New Motherboard that supports on AGP (my current video card)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128307 - Gigabyte GA-K8U-939 Socket 939 ULi M1689 ATX AMD Motherboard

New Motherboard that supports PCI-E (and a new video card)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131524 - ASUS A8N-SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130281 - eVGA 256-P2-N563-AX Geforce 7900GT CO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

2nd Choice is incredibly solid

go with that
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

it almost sounds like your psu might be fried... because if the mobo was fried (i have never seen one fried, however) that it would at least power on SOMETHING... lights, fans, etc.

this is not my expertise, however. I have the same issue w/ my 4200+ every now and then. When i first installed my new cpu, (it was a whole new build) i had "incompatible memory" (vendor was not approved). So that was my problem.

wait for someone else to answer, however if it is fried and you have the money, grab the pci-e board. But, if you don't game, just pick up the AGP board... but it looks like you do
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

I had thought PSU, but I didn't think I had done anything that could possibly fry it, but it's a possibility I guess.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 01:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Also, is there any remote chance that I could have fried the new processor? Could I RMA it if i did?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

I agree with tommyboy about the psu, sounds like it could be your problem. But how did you shut it down, did you go through windows to shut it down or did you do a hard power off?

If you happen to have a spare psu lying around try plugging that in with just your mobo, old cpu, and RAM to see if it posts. If it does then your mobo and cpu are ok and you need a new psu.

If it's not your psu the only thing I can recommend is to put your old cpu in and see if it starts up, if it dosen't, you need a new mobo.

And if you just wanna be sure that it's not your new cpu, I'd try and RMA it as DOA.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Take a wire and on the 24pin motherboard connector put it in the green connection and the black one, then turn the power supply on and see if it works.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

@ kaname: I tried with the old CPU, same thing. Nothing. I guess I could maybe try and take the PSU out of my Linux box and give it a try. Later though.

Any other ideas/comments from others are welcome. Thanks
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

I popped out the 400W PSU in my Ubuntu box and tossed in the 450W one from my "broken" box and it works fine (I'm here now, aren't I?), so I think it's safe the PSU is fine, and that I'll be getting a new motherboard soon.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 04:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

I ordered the second combo (mobo + gfx card), it's arriving tomorrow. I'll post back when/if it works.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.