Fresh computer build... Some problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2006, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default Fresh computer build... Some problems

Just put my comp together, it consists of:

NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Black IDE/ATAPI Model ND-3550A - OEM

ASPIRE X-CRUISE -BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Western Digital Caviar SE WD2500JS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Acer ET.L5209.005 Black 19" 8ms Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail

ASUS A8R-MVP Socket 939 ATI Radeon XPRESS 200 CrossFire ATX AMD CrossFire Motherboard - Retail

SAPPHIRE 100149SR Radeon X1900XT 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

Rosewill RP550-2 ATX 2.01 550W Power Supply - Retail

Sunbeam Multimedia Green Illuminated EL-KB-09-BKGN Black PS/2 Keyboard - Retail

Sunbeam FireLine Optical Mouse MS-2011-BK-BL Black 3 Buttons 1x Wheel USB Optical Mouse w/Blue Light - Retail

G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 500 (PC 4000) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ - Retail

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester 1GHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA4200BVBOX - Retail




OK... I connected everything to my ability. Fired it up, eveything turns on. PSU, Video Card fan, Heatsink fan, HD, etc...

But I am getting no signal to the Monitor.

The video card fan is running, and there is a red light lit up next to the 6 pin connector. But there is also a little 3 pin connector on it, do I need to plug something into that too?

Monitor is just sitting there on, not responding once so ever...

I have the adapters on the outputs of the video card that enable a regular monitor to connect, theres 2 outputs.

What is my problem?


EDIT: I have 2 drives hooked up as well (CD and DVD burner/rom), one has it's light lit up green, the other not. They both do not open. What would keep them from opening?
__________________

Spi1lz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default

I just unplugged the ribon from the 2 drives... Now they both open... When the ribbon is plugged in they don't open? Wack?
__________________

Spi1lz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you set the jumpers correctly?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default

jumpers?

Heh... I don't know much... Explain a little bit...

Are they for the drives? or for the Vid?
Spi1lz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sory i have a short attention span and i missed the video issue in your first post. jumpers may have to do with the optical drives. if you have a look at the back of them you will see pins with a small plastic cap on them. above them will be markings for Cable Select (CS) Master (MA and Slave (SL). make sure one is set to master and the other slave. it doesn't really matter which is which as long as they are seperate although i would make the burner the master.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Alright, I will go try that out...

But what do you think the problem is with the Vid card?
Spi1lz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 02:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default

I just checked the jumpers, I had one set as MA and one SL...???


Edit: They are both burners, could that be a problem? They can also read, so ya...
Spi1lz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 02:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default

I just switched them, so the other is MA, and the other is SL... Still not opening...
Spi1lz is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 02:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

each on their own?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 02:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default

What?
__________________

Spi1lz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.