freezing probelm - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default freezing probelm

my computer keeps on freezing even whan its just idleing it will eventually freeze. what could the source of this problem be? thanks in advance
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Hmm... Not enough heat in the system. I'd consider adding more harddrives, another video card, perhaps a Pentium 4 processor. In the extreme case a coil heater should do fine, but like I said, the Pentium 4 is a much wiser choice for heating up a system.

No I'm kidding ^_^! Perhaps it IS heating. Make sure all your fans are working, check your cpu/psu/gpu fans, make sure the case fans are working and the case is properly ventilated. Check running processes, see whats clogging up memory, defragment your harddrive, do virus/adware scans, and tell us how it is
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 08:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

defragging now it will freeze at usually 105 f. i have alot of fans in there it freezes earlier now. the grapics gets hot though. you think i need to exchange the proccessor?
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

i need help!!!!!!!!!!! anyone??????? this is a gift. if i return my processor to new egg can i get a refund?
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

are you putting like apps like kazaa or limewire and stuff that is known to cause problems?
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

nope none of that.
cpu is at 80-90 f
video is 105-115 f
these are at idle
what do you think thanks
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

is the cooler on right and how much dust is there?
also, what's the PSU?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 09:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

its antec 550 watt
no dust new system
you have aim? thank you
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

First) BUMP for iam_not_2fast4u

Second)
Quote:
No I'm kidding ^_^! Perhaps it IS heating. Make sure all your fans are working, check your cpu/psu/gpu fans, make sure the case fans are working and the case is properly ventilated. Check running processes, see whats clogging up memory, defragment your harddrive, do virus/adware scans, and tell us how it is
Do that!!! Very good advice septoiod.

Third)
Quote:
you think i need to exchange the proccessor?
Its fine, its not the processor

Fourth) Try another videocard!!!!

Fith) (Idle Temps!!!)



High Graphic Card Temps and Low System Fan Speeds.

My Tohught
Video Card Overheat and need more system airflow

~Joe

EDIT:



We were just talking and were wondering if anything here could make cards in the slot act weird casuing freezing.
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

that is idle, i added another fan and modded where the fans are for better airflo. thes the second grapics card ive used. i orded a 6800gt cooling set up. how do i rase the fan speed? I dont care about noise. Thank you very much for your help.
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.