fps monitoring program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Pinscher's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,538
Default fps monitoring program

I just had one quick question:

Does anybody know a good, reliable program that will monitor my fps in games.

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section.


Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300



Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

fraps, also i hear the Omega drivers (modified drivers for ATI and nVidia) have an FPS counter built in
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 06:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb

dunno why u need a program since virtually every game has a fps counter command built in
Gabb is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 04:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Pinscher's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,538

How to you activate that fps counter command?
Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154

just look in the manual. the only one i know off the dome is stat fps in america's army. all of them, from cs1.6 to hl2 has an FPS counter though.
cementshoes is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956

hahaha ferrarri you should have a counter on all your games that just says: "SH*TLOADS"
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wildside's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,031
Send a message via MSN to Wildside

fraps is good, but i need an ATI R600 to run it since i dont have my 6600 LE anymore :'-(
--Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
--AMD FX-8150 w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 SDRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482

Just do a search for each game you are interested in. CS 1.6 for example I prefer using the command "Net_Graph 3" which you type into your console so that it displays your FPS and some other information in your game.
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Pinscher's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,538

lol nagasama I tried the in game console thing and fraps and I always get 60 fps. Is my comp just limiting it to that so it doesn't overwork itself for no reason or what? I tried playing a really old game: Warcraft 3 and I tried Dark Messiah (both at maximum everything) and got constant 60 fps on both. I know I can run these games at way higher fps.

Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.