FOUR VERY IMPORTANT QUESTIONS: Please help quickly! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2005, 01:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris

Actually Dell is using Western Digital now. So the harddrive is decent. But yeah for go the site p0werslave suggested.

Also, that processor is not the best intel processor, there are higher clocked intels than that, for I have one at 3.4 ghz.

ferris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:54 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

Originally posted by Jayare012
goto and look up the a1130n's ther cheaper and better.
Any prebuilt pretty much sucks.

AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 09:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter

AMD is better and depends on your mobo. Dells r not that good and that is basically it.
<a href=\"\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"\" /><br />Made with, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482

I would have to agree with the general concensus here. DON'T BUY A DELL!@!@!

Also just as importantly, I would say forget the stupid intel and go with AMD if you are at all a gamer.

Lastly.... don't be a pu**y build it yourself and give Dell the bird.
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 07:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default I CHANGED FROM DELL TO HP Pre-Built + Customization

I figured I should change from Pentium D to AMD Athlon X2

Since online customization from companies like Gateway and Compaq/HP SUCK!!!, and Dell doesn't do Pentium D, I have done the following:

I purchased the following, and will combine them:

VERSUS the specs I posted before of a Dell.

I was going to buy a Power Supply as well, but we (with the CompUSA guy too) decided it was better to go with a 2-year Warranty (which we probably would have gotten anyway) ... and then that way, if the Power Supply failed or something, we'd have coverage on our CPU.

I will upgrade the Power Supply eventually if I get some money. Meanwhile I will back up anything important on my Hard Drive to an external just in case :-p

How do you guys rate the change? It cost a little bit cheaper too.

rocket1406 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.