Forgive me, o posessors of wisdom... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2006, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Post Forgive me, o posessors of wisdom...

Can you guys/gals point me in the right direction? More like "please drop kick me down the stairs towards the right solution".

I've posted about this stuff before, and I'm VERY VERY sorry (especially to the mods who have to read this crap over and over and over again) for being a broken record.

But, while people have given me helpful advice, I'm still getting crappy frame rates. So, here goes:

Okay...(I think) I need to upgrade, because of not-so-great performance issues. Note: I don't have hi-speed internet, so ALL of this stuff refers to games with bots.

BattleField2 lags on higher resolutions (offline) Even on medium too...I have to keep the settings pretty low to avoid the lagging.

F.E.A.R. is playable on Medium settings, but not super smooth..

Half-Life 2 ran fine at first. Counter-Strike Source gets crappy frame rates now that Valve added all those "HDR" effects. I turn them off, turn the models etc. down to medium, shadows/lighting to low or off. Still jerky. Really bad on levels like cs_militia- it has lots of trees and stuff. Levels like de_inferno, cs_office, etc. jerky too. Hard to use the Scout when the bots are strafing left/right and your PC is jerking. But...maybe it's just because the computer has to do all the bot/waypoint calculations? I usually play with 19 other bots. But, I HAVE played online with this compy at friend's houses and whatnot. I had so-so performance then, when I was playing HUMANS (with no bot calculations necessary)

Empire Earth II: On any map larger than "Medium", the computer players build LOTS of stuff, computer experiences major slowdowns. I turned the graphics WWAAAAAYYY down.

Why is this odd? My computer supposedly rapes the system requirements for all these games. Here are my specs:

ASUS K8V SE Deluxe
2 Gigs RAM
160 Gigs HD space
Athlon 3400+ (Socket 754)
ATI Radeon x850 pro

It's either the processor (not a socket 939) or the video card. I've been told that I need a socket 939, my 754 is why I have the performance issues. Others have sort of said it was the video card. Some people say I have a great card, others (a mod, in this case) say stuff like:

'Poor performance because of ATI? The X850Pro ain't a bad card... but it ain't a nVidia, either."

So, I'm wondering if buying an AGP (my mobo isn't PCIe) nVidia 7900-ish card would give me great performance gains, or is it entirely a processor issue?

Again, I'm sorry for posting the same questions, just spaced months/nanoseconds apart. I'll stop bothering you with the mundane stuff if you can help me solve these stupid performance issues. Forgiveth me....

phosphorousgobu is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419

you video card is comparable to a 6800 gt imo that petty good. your processor is more then enough. dont let anybody tell u otherwise a upgrade in processor will get 5-10 fps going to an fx processor. Which is not worth the money. You certainlly have enough ram, the only game that uses 2gb of ram is bf2.

i think u shooting for too high of a resolution, with a resolution of 1280X1024 u should be able to play high settings.

At what resolution u play this games?

efd753 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

ya I play at 1280x1024 with a geforce 6600 (not gt) on almost all high setting in HL2 and have no lag.

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 03:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

seeing as its a socket 754, and video interface is AGP, there's really not much you can do to this computer... and you already have as much ram as anyone would need... you just gotta turn all the eye candy stuff off (antialiasing, anisotropic filtering, HDR, etc) and don't have the resolution too high. (since i have LCD, mine stays at 1280X1024). i let HL2 autodetect my settings and it has somethings on high, and somethings turned off... and it runs fine on my 600gt.. which isn't as good as your x850pro. you probably won't find a much better card for AGP...

your problem could just be software... try formatting your comp... maybe you have some spyware or viruses or soemthing..

conclusion: don't upgrade anything. use it as much as possible, then get a new one.
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 03:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

I suggest the same thing... reformat and leave it alone until you can upgrade to a whole new machine. Sounds like some conflicts some where... I have an older X850XTPE that has no problems running FEAR, Quake 4, and HL2 (Med settings) you machine isn't bad, just older, that's all...

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 04:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

well there is quite a difference b/w the x850pro and the x850xt.

the pro was slower than the x800xt, and the performance is probably close to the x800xl.. which is somewhere between the 6600gt and the 6800gt...

wow.. i'm impressed! the x800xl is often faster than the 6800gt! nice.. but ya.. the x800xl is about the same as x850pro..

the x850xt pe is no comparison because it was last last generation's fastest card.. faster than the 6800ultra.. it was king until the 7800gt was released.
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 07:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Well there could be a driver conflict. Reformating and installing all new drivers would help, that and heat. What are your temps? Heat can really slow down a computer.

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 08:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

I have a s754 Sempron 2800+ and I used to have a K8V-MX with a 6200 AGP

what I did was upgrade my motherboard to a PCI-E one (still s754) and bought a 7900 GT

that made my gaming performance much better, I can play HL2 and Doom 3 on max settings. though I haven't tried BF2 or F.E.A.R. (I don't have them)

my CPU kinda bottlenecks the performance though, but I have overclocked it by over 400MHZ

anyway, I'd probabbly suggest a video card upgrade first (maybe go PCI-E like I did)
since your CPU doesn't have as big impact on performance. but then later on, get a new motherboard and CPU, maybe an X2 in s939 (so you don't have to get new DDR2 RAM aswell)
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 09:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

your problem could just be software... try formatting your comp... maybe you have some spyware or viruses or soemthing..
i have to say this was my first thought as well.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 08:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24

Thank you all for your replies thus far.

Resolution? I always keep my in-game resolutions to 1024 x 768, so I don't think I have it up too high...

And heat? I have the PSU to pump air. To back it up, I have a big fan underneath it (120 mm, I think), and 2 little fans in the bottom front of my case (80 mm, I think). After playing a FPS like CS for a while, I'll check my temperature via ASUS Probe...It usually (depending on the room temperature) will usually be about 120-125 degrees Farhenheit. I didn't THINK that's too high, but maybe it is? I don't have anymore places to mount fans in my case, tho :-p

Spyware or viruses. I will admit that my Norton and Spysweepers are out of date. The last time they were updated was the last time I brought my computer over to a friends house (January I think?). Since I don't use my compy for the net (YET...I plan on it at college, where I will definitely keep everything updated), I didn't think that I really could get a virus/spyware, unless I got it from installing new games...I've heard conspiracy stuff about software companies/Dell/Gateway inlcuding spyware on the products they ship to you, so who knows..

What runs in the background? I have 38 processes. In my task bar, I see:

Little box that says "network cable unplugged"
Norton Anti-Virus Autoprotect
Norton Protection Center
Some sort of ATI utility to manage resolutions, etc.

Too much stuff?

Formatting!? Noo....It took me several months of bringing my computer over to a friend's house to download Windows updates and whatnot....I'm not sure if I can do that. I also don't have an XP CD anymore...

This is a weird problem...I'd think I got better performance...but, maybe a mobo/processor upgrade would be the most beneficial thing. That remains to be seen.

Thanks again, all.

phosphorousgobu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.