Floppy Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 04:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default Floppy Drive

So........I just finished building an amazing computer with the help of some of you guys on this forums. Thing runs great and I am very pleased. Now, I need to transfer all my music files from my old computer (sharing router). I figured i would be able to setup a network and just transfer them really fast over that. So i used my new comp to set up the network, then when the wizard finished it saved all the details to a floppy disc and said to put into any other computers that will be placed on the network. Now here inlies my problem. I have a floppy drive on my old computer however, when i go into the my computer file only the dvd rom, cd rom, and c drive are listed. No floppy
drive what so ever. What can i do about this?
__________________

goldenboy3413 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Install one? I can't possibly imagine how you can not have a spare floppy somewhere. I'm pretty sure you can save it on some other source. Its just a .exe file right, but I don't remember.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default

aight, i have a floppy drive installed on both computers. The settings for the network that i set up on my new comp are saved on a floppy disc. I cannot load those settings onto the old computer because, despite there being a floppy drive on it, and that floppy drive being listed in the device manager list, the drive is not listed in the My Computer folder as all the other drives are. Therefor i have no way of opening the files on the floppy disc.
goldenboy3413 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 08:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

couldn't you use a flash drive or burn them to a CD, or just use a crossover cable?
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 09:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

even a digital camera mp3 player anything with memeory
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

u don't need to use floppy to create network. i hooked up my computer on the router, shared files, and now i can get my music files from my bro's comp. using XP
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

The one time Ive only shared files. There was a shared folder in XP i dont remember where but you put the files in that then go on your other computer and you can take them out of that and place them anywhere you want. That is the whole point of making a network, so you dont have to used portable storage.
idontknow is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Default

i realize i dont need portable storage. The only problem with transfering data over a network from one comp to the other is that i dont have a network. I just hooked both computers up to the router. Then i setup a network on one computer. At the end of the setup networkk wizard it said to save to a floppy disc or to the windows xp disc then transfer to any other computers you want on your network. Unfortunately, as stated above, my floppy drive is there but..........not there. Therefore i cannot complete setting up the network.
goldenboy3413 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by goldenboy3413
i realize i dont need portable storage. The only problem with transfering data over a network from one comp to the other is that i dont have a network. I just hooked both computers up to the router. Then i setup a network on one computer. At the end of the setup networkk wizard it said to save to a floppy disc or to the windows xp disc then transfer to any other computers you want on your network. Unfortunately, as stated above, my floppy drive is there but..........not there. Therefore i cannot complete setting up the network.
hmmm...when i did the network wizard before, i just told it to continue without using floppy and it worked.

or you can do it manually. start the SERVER service in Services (set it to automatic). make sure that the file and printer sharing for microsoft network is checked in your local area connection properties. also make sure that you configure your firewall settings
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 05:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you need a crossover cable if going directly from computer to computer

and you need to set up an IP address on each system - 2000 and XP will do so automatically, but others except for Linux you will have to set manually
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.