Flight Simulator X system Specs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Question Flight Simulator X system Specs

I have a custom built computer with:

Mainboard model: Aopen AX4SPE-UN
Intel P4 2.8 Ghz processor (not HT)
512 MB DDR PC 3200 RAM
ATI RADEON 9600 SE 128 MB RAM

There is no PCI xpress slot on my mainboard. The game runs not as I expected.

I am looking into improving my machine without having to replace a lot of parts. I know that if I want a better graphics card, PCIxpress is the way to go, but then I need to get a new mainboard, then a new processor, and possibly even new memory all together.

Would buying new RAM improve speed?

I am looking into getting new RAM as what I have is minimal.

Currently the configuration is 2 x 256MB Dual channel. There are 4 slots with 2 open. Can I get 2 more 256 MB RAM form a different brand or get different kinds of memory modules and add it how I want?

Thanks,

Chris
__________________

RChris173 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

uhh....You need a new pc my friend.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya you just wasted 60 bucks on flight sim X. If you can, return it and get flight sim 2004.

To get flight sim x to work you must do the following in the correct order.

1) unplug all wires from computer at the same time using your fist and "anger"strength.
2) carry the pc out of the house at a high speed and shotput it into the front lawn.
3) remove the 12ga shotgun from the safe and insert 3 shells into it (making sure they are the correct caliber)
4) take the shotgun and get a good position on the porch to aim at the computer.
5) rapidly fire the 3 shots into the computer.

ENJOY
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Default

Yeah, even an 8800gtx can struggle with that game on max everything (with 2GB ram and a nice fast cpu). If you want to play more current games, you'll need to make that a back-up pc and shell out some money for a new rig. Pay to play my friend.
__________________
E6600 Conroe
ASUS P5B-E
EvGA Geforce 8800GTS
Western Digital 500gb 7200RPM
LiteOn DvD/R 16x +CDR combo
Corsair XMS2 2Gig 6400 DDR2 800
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Antec P180 Silver
Dex.Terity is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Well the game was given to me from a friend so I didn't loose any $$ in that way, but I already own FS04.

How much money do you think I would need to spend to get a decent long lasting PC and what specs.
RChris173 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

around $1k will give you a good quality, pretty good *** core 2 duo performance busting PC. That's my goal here soon. I have 5 towers already, all too old, gahhhhh!
__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

I am also very interested in FSX, and I can tell you that many other people are in the same boat as you. The minimum requirements defined by m$oft for FSX are a joke. I am currently building a new home system for my business, which I also use for gaming, and these are the specs I am looking at. I expect them to run FSX on medium to high settings, if I'm lucky.

Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme X6800 2.93GHz
Windows Vista
NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard
2GB DDR2 Performance SDRAM at 800MHz
2 x 250GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s 7,200 RPM on RAID 0
18x Dual Layer DVD±R/W Drive
768MB NVIDIA® GeForce™ 8800 GTX

If you want to discuss this with other people who are playing the game with a variety of PC configurations, I suggest checking out http://flyawaysimulation.com.
SAFX is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dex.Terity
Yeah, even an 8800gtx can struggle with that game on max everything (with 2GB ram and a nice fast cpu). If you want to play more current games, you'll need to make that a back-up pc and shell out some money for a new rig. Pay to play my friend.
Not that I'm disagreeing with you, but the GPU is only one aspect. FSX was designed to run on Vista, and more importantly, with Directx10, so it would be key to wait and see how FSX performs once Vista is released.

And I know what you mean by "pay to play", as I am about to drop $4000 on a new system, but I feel I deserve it because my current system is 6 years old, which is like 60 years given how fast things move in the PC world today :-)

SAFX
SAFX is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 02:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Chris, if you are looking for a good budget PC, look no further.

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/ultra6000.asp?v=d
__________________

Gonzo1337 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.