flashing the bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2006, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004
Default flashing the bios

is it possible to upgrade your bios without a floppy?

and if yes, how?

fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

That will depend on what kind of board you have and who makes it. yes it is possible, using a cd or even USB in some cases, but you would have to go to the website and do some research.


Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

normally motherboard manufacturers are giving with their bindled software where u can flash BIOS without uising the DOS method, making it simpler and trouble free, as in newer case, the old BIOS doesnt actually gets deleted until new one hasnt been installed correctly, while in DOS method, it immediately deletes ond one, means if you have trouble with your new BIOS (reading, floppy error, file error) means your BIOS has gone.

there must be some third party BIOS updaters as well, but I cannot gaurantee their work.
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

Not to steal the post and he is probably doing this for this reason but can upgrading a bios give it have more options than it already does.
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
KingAustin's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin

Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Not to steal the post and he is probably doing this for this reason but can upgrading a bios give it have more options than it already does.
Yes, usually the point of upgrading it
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246

I upgrade my BIOS over the internet.

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.