fixing dead/stuck pixels? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default fixing dead/stuck pixels?

hey guys i bought a new monitor about 2 weeks ago and it came w/ 2 stuck pixels. one green one and one blue one. only the green one is noticeable at all so it really doesn't bother me...i've now got a green desktop so it's not a big problem.

i just wanted to know if there are techniques to fix dead/stuck pixels and if they're very good (i don't want more problems).

i only wanna fix them becuase i'm getting into gaming and it's really annoying to have a dead/stuck pixel when gaming. thanks guys
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I heard that you can spam fast colors on the screen and that can help, also I myself have tried this one: you get a SLIGHTLY damp cloth and you turn the screen off SLIGHTLY press against the screen and turn it back on and it should go away. Well, worked for me at least.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

thanks. i'll give it a try. anybody know a video or something i can play for the fast colors thing? i CAN make one but it'd take me a lil while.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

google or yahoo video it. like rapid colors or somethin.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
I heard that you can spam fast colors on the screen and that can help, also I myself have tried this one: you get a SLIGHTLY damp cloth and you turn the screen off SLIGHTLY press against the screen and turn it back on and it should go away. Well, worked for me at least.
wow, never heard of such tenchniques, wish i had some dead pixels so i could test it out
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

make one lol go on paint.. save all the diferent colors go into windows movie maker put them all together fastly and BAM color movie!

or download some dragon ball z
Keadonen is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

here dl this i made it lol

it gives me a head ache watching it, if its not fast enough open it with windows media player and fast forward it and put it on full screen

hur http://www.yousendit.com/transfer.ph...9FBC3501D416E4
Keadonen is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

I read in a different topic to kill more pixels you use rapid color? could have read it wrong tho.

I also heard about putting your finger on the screen and rubbing around in a circle for a little bit.. I have personally never tried since I dont even have an lcd.. But let me know what works for future refrence.
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 08:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

I heard if you put a piece of cloth or somethign over your screen and rub in a circular motion you can massage out dead/stuck pixils sometimes
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.