First upgrade for my computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default First upgrade for my computer

HI, I just registered here becasuse I am upgrading my computer, and I want to know more. Now, i have a VGC-RB40 (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...lance&n=541966)
and it's all stock besides i put in a 550WATT PSU and a x1600PRO.
Now, it's micro ATX which I find horrible. Because of that, I'm getting an ATX mid tower case. The thing is, sony for some reason soldered the dvd drives to my case, so i need a hacksaw to get them out....
Now, I'm going to try AMD this time around, because some people reccomned it. Here is what im getting.
If I should buy something else, tell me, but I am not going to buy a video card yet, I'll just OC mine right now

case:
cpu grease:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007
heatsinks for GPU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835116020
RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145566(I'm just going for 1gig not 2 gig right now)
CPU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103747
mobo:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138028
__________________

psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 02:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

So your saying tat you are going to use your existing:

GPU - X1600PRO
PSU - X brand 550W
DVD Drives from the vaio

what is your budget? I know it's only like 30 bucks cheaper, but you can get the 3800 x2, OC it, and get the same specs... but hey... Seems alright to me...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
So your saying tat you are going to use your existing:

GPU - X1600PRO
PSU - X brand 550W
DVD Drives from the vaio

what is your budget? I know it's only like 30 bucks cheaper, but you can get the 3800 x2, OC it, and get the same specs... but hey... Seems alright to me...
meh, i want the CPU to last... not just for a year, i will have this for like 3 years or so, until theres like AMD 7000+ l0l. meh bedget is tight right now.... but im trying to get that newegg preferred account, but every time i put in my soc security ## and all my other info it said
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

it said... What? well, anywho... It's still not a bad setup but I would suggest an aftermarket cooler... it will run hotter with that setup. Maybe a Zalman 7000B or 7700 or 9500.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
it said... What? well, anywho... It's still not a bad setup but I would suggest an aftermarket cooler... it will run hotter with that setup. Maybe a Zalman 7000B or 7700 or 9500.
Im not going to OC for a bit, and the reviews on that cpu are that tit doesnt get that
hot, so for now ill use artic silver thermal paste
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.