first time setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2014, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default first time setup

after I have all my new parts and i put them all together in the case and i turn it on for the first time do i need to configure anything in or with the bios or can i just dive right in and start installing my OS and go from there ?

thanks for any info
__________________

mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: first time setup

Only thing I'd double check is make sure the SATA/HDD mode is set to AHCI rather than legacy (IDE) or RAID.

That and maybe numlock option is set to on at boot... but that's more personal preference . Otherwise not much you should have to do. Can set the date/time if you want, but it will get set when you configure it in Windows as well.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: first time setup

is it not set to AHCI by default ?

thanks for the info
mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: first time setup

No IDE is default due to compatibility reasons.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time gaming setup Mourek New Systems | Building and Buying 6 02-16-2012 11:25 AM
[First time] Finalizing computer setup Gipoy New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-24-2011 04:01 PM
First time builder.. is this a good setup? gapsdav New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-09-2010 04:35 PM
First time builder, long time reader Billymac24 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-09-2009 01:53 AM
First time poster...First time problem. "OPERATING SYSTEM NOT FOUND." oncearunner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-07-2007 07:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.