First time computer build review! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2010, 11:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Thanks for the reply. I'm almost done and just put in the graphics card. In the card manual, it said to connect two 6 pin power cables to each individual connector. I have one 6 pin PCIE connector which I already installed and another that is 6 pin + 2 pins hanging off. Does this still work as a 6 pin or is it like an 8 pin?
__________________

Kenny5044 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: First time computer build review!

If it is 6+2, as in the two are not made into the six but come from the same set of wires, then yes. My PSU uses 6+2 connectors.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Ok, so I finished building it and I just started it up. The fans on every part are going but It makes 2 beeps then a really long one like something is powering up or something and nothing shows up on my screen. Is something wrong or do I need to put the CD in?

EDIT: I just put the CD in, still 2 beeps and nothing showing on the monitor :/
Kenny5044 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Look in the motherboard manual. It has a chart that you can use to decode the beeps, or at least it should.
It may be the RAM. I googled your mobo and found the compatibility chart, don't see the specific set you ordered on there.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First time computer build review!

A long beep with 2 short beeps is usually your video card, but it really depends upon the type of bios used by the manufacturer.

Make sure the video card is plugged into the slot securely and the locking tab is engaged (you should hear it click). Make sure you have all the required power connectors plugged into your video card.

Your video card requires a minimum of 500 watts and you have a 550 watt ps? That's not a lot of headroom and if your PS is the slightest bit weak it could be causing your problems.

I guess it could also be a memory problem. Try booting the system with just 1 stick of memory installed, if it still fails then try the single stick in a different memory slot. If that still doesn't help then try the other stick of memory, all by itself.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: First time computer build review!

I couldn't find the beep decoder chart, so I moved the RAM around different slots with no success. I also moved the graphics card from 1 slot to the other and nothing happened haha. I guess if I don't think of something I'll call gigabyte or the ram company tomorrow. I found RAM from an old computer downstairs, but's only DDR and my motherboard manual said it requires DDR3
Kenny5044 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:41 AM   #17 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Try everything that doesn't involve RAM, and if nothing works, buy a cheap stick that's on the QVL as a last resort. If that works, then you don't have compatible RAM. Just my suggestion.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:52 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny5044 View Post
I found RAM from an old computer downstairs, but's only DDR and my motherboard manual said it requires DDR3
You cannot use DDR memory with a DDR3 motherboard. You have to use DDR3 memory or it won't work, ever.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 06:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Ok, so I got the display working. It turns out instead of plugging it into my motherboard's VGA port, I had to plug it into my graphics card's. I still have the 2 beeps then a long beep, so its pretty likely it's my RAM. When i boot the system, though, it gets to the screen asking for the system disk. Should I go ahead and do this? Will it help me determine if it actually is my RAM or some other part or will something go wrong?
Kenny5044 is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 09:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Intelligent Metalhead
 
redfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 345
Default Re: First time computer build review!

Do you still have the same DDR3 4GB RAM that you put in earlier? If so, then go ahead- so long as the computer's functional. A beep decoding chart would be helpful, though.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
ATI Radeon R9 280 x2 Crossfire
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 2x8GB
EVGA Supernova 850 G2
Corsair H80i
Cooler Master HAF 932

redfish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time to build a new computer. WasTech System Upgrades 41 10-29-2010 12:25 AM
First time computer build, thoughts? Thanatos Nex New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-12-2010 02:50 PM
First time computer build sikyon System Upgrades 24 08-19-2005 12:20 AM
First Time computer build StrifeX Overclocking and Modding 56 04-11-2005 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.