First-Time Computer Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

wishcraft

Beta member
Hi.

So I have been using an aging Dell laptop for a few years now and have grown tired of having to run every game I play on low or lowest settings just to get by. Since I've been investing more time into gaming lately, I've decided to finally build that gaming desktop of my dreams, however, I have little to no experience beyond my brief internet snooping.

I suppose my ideal budget is around $1000 - $1,100 - though this would include a monitor and keyboard. For a point of reference, I would like to be able to run almost all modern and soon-to-be-modern games at max or near-max settings (those I had in mind being Firefall, Planetside 2 [though I think the requirements for this game are rather unknown currently], Skyrim, Far Cry 3). For one reason or another I am under the impression that these games are not too demanding (I am not hoping to run BF3 on max here, but would like to be quite future-proof). As far as the monitor, I've been using a laptop with a 15.4" 1440x900 display for several years and, obviously, would like to upgrade to a larger display, however I don't know if a 16:10 aspect ratio would be an unwelcome change and whether or not a transition to ~24" would melt my brain.

The first thing that caught my eye was this combo deal from Newegg.

Now, after speaking to someone, I was told that the AMD PII X6 CPU would be rather unnecessary for me, and that I would do better by downgrading the CPU and upgrading the GPU, so I thought maybe X4 with HD 6950?

Also, an aside, I am by no means attached to AMD, and am open to Intel suggestions as well (I've just heard that AMD offers better prices for comparable performance).