First time Building a PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2006, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default First time Building a PC

I've never done this before and I have a few questions. I'll give links to the parts I'm using to show you what I plan on building and with what parts.



Motherboard

Graphics card

Hard drive

Sound card

Case

Memory

Processor

The first question I have is, besides a mouse, keyboard, monitor, and speakers, is there anything else I might need as far as the actual components go?

Next, I noticed that my graphics card memory tech is DDR3, however the memory I have picked out is DDR2. Do I need DDR3 memory to use the graphics card? Or can I use the DDR2 memory I have selected already?

Edit: And I'd also like to know if the parts I have selected already are any good.

Any helpful comments would be much appreciated. Again this is my first time and I want to make sure I have all the parts I'll need before I order them.
__________________

JWood88 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Most case PSU stink... but this one is a TT, so you might luck out, but I would consider another PSU, maybe something in an Antec, Cooler Master, Enermax, etc... Not sure of the memory though. I've never been good with that part

Couldn't get the mobo, graphics, pages. Is this a budget machine? There are better machine setup out there than the INTEL you choose. AMD is also dropping their prices on the 254th of this month and you might be able to picl up a 3800 Dual core for 149ish. plus the core 2 duo. (for the Conroe freaks) is running along the cheap side... what kind of budget do you have to work with? that will help us, help you out...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Well, I'm looking around the $1500-$1800 range. Though, I can always save up more so price really isn't an issue. I just want a high-end computer that will run fast and smooth no matter what I'm doing. Games, music, internet, etc.... My biggest concerns were with the graphics card, the memory, and motherboard. Not too worried about the grahics card unless it's not compatible with my memory.
JWood88 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

What is your PRIMARY want out of your system? Games? Video? (edit/watch, etc) Internet? Music? (edit, mix, etc...) and where do you live? (that will help with online stores to look at)
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

This is the graphics card

http://www3.shopping.com/xPF-BFG_BFG...BFGR79256GTOCE

and the mother board

http://www3.shopping.com/xPF-Intel_S...X_Express_chip

edit: ok the links still aren't working, I don't know why. But the card is a BFG GeForce 7900 GT 256 MB, and the motherboard is an Intel D955xbk Motherboard
JWood88 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Primarily a gaming system.
JWood88 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Well... if you want a gaming machine then I would not sugest an INTEL unless you get the latest ones. The Core 2 Duo. but I still cannot see your links... but since your using a ".com" adde I'm assuming you can look at places like Newegg, Mwave, Pricewatch. Take a look at the system parts there and see what you like. If I may... I would start with looking at something along the lines of:

possible DFI mob with some kind of AMD dual core CPU
a good 450-550W PSU from ANTEC, Enermax, etc..
2GB DDR/DDR2 RAM - Corsair, Kingston, PQI, etc...
a decent after market CPU fan - Zalman, Arctic Cooling
a 7900GT PCIE video card (good choice)
a decent sized SATA II hard drive (also, a good choice)
then all the exras - DVD burner, floppy, KB/mouse, etc...


OR the Conroe setup... with all the odds and ends... you can find those by doing a search for conroe and reading thru the forum.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Now when you say "2GB DDR/DDR2 RAM" I've read that it's better to get 2 1 gigs than a 2 gig by itself. Do you know if that's true?
JWood88 is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

sorry... that was what I meant... 2x1GB sticks
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 21
Default

http://www3.shopping.com/xPF-Ultra_X2_Titanium_PSU
this is the power supply i'm looking at now. Looks nice, not too pricey either. I heard you should not use the ones a mobo comes with because they could destroy your hardware if they fry and are quite likely to fry as well. Not sure if that's true either but I plan on buying a power supply seperate anyway. Thoughts on it?
__________________

JWood88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.