First time Building a PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

JWood88

Baseband Member
I've never done this before and I have a few questions. I'll give links to the parts I'm using to show you what I plan on building and with what parts.

Motherboard

Graphics card

Hard drive

Sound card

Case

Memory

Processor

The first question I have is, besides a mouse, keyboard, monitor, and speakers, is there anything else I might need as far as the actual components go?

Next, I noticed that my graphics card memory tech is DDR3, however the memory I have picked out is DDR2. Do I need DDR3 memory to use the graphics card? Or can I use the DDR2 memory I have selected already?

Edit: And I'd also like to know if the parts I have selected already are any good.

Any helpful comments would be much appreciated. Again this is my first time and I want to make sure I have all the parts I'll need before I order them.

Most case PSU stink... but this one is a TT, so you might luck out, but I would consider another PSU, maybe something in an Antec, Cooler Master, Enermax, etc... Not sure of the memory though. I've never been good with that part :eek:

Couldn't get the mobo, graphics, pages. Is this a budget machine? There are better machine setup out there than the INTEL you choose. AMD is also dropping their prices on the 254th of this month and you might be able to picl up a 3800 Dual core for 149ish. plus the core 2 duo. (for the Conroe freaks) :) is running along the cheap side... what kind of budget do you have to work with? that will help us, help you out... :D

Well, I'm looking around the $1500-$1800 range. Though, I can always save up more so price really isn't an issue. I just want a high-end computer that will run fast and smooth no matter what I'm doing. Games, music, internet, etc.... My biggest concerns were with the graphics card, the memory, and motherboard. Not too worried about the grahics card unless it's not compatible with my memory.