First Time Building - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default First Time Building

I have decided to try to build a pc, actually two of them.

One for myself and one for my son. I thought it would be a good project for us to do together. I hope we can handle the task.

We are wanting these mainly for gaming. We are gonna do an AMD and an Intel build. We have been saving now for 18 months.

The 1st build is listed below, i really need to know if everything is compatable and will work alright together.

Also I am open to any suggestions, and also i need a good video card for gaming in the $300 range and just want the best I can get for that price, Nvidia or ATI, i dont have a preference since I have owned both and they both performed well.

I really hope these computers will last a couple of years before we need to upgrade.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119094 {Already have this case}

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119094 {CPU}


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223 {Heatsink and Fan}

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131013 {motherboard}

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140 {Hard drive}

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034 {memory}

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341002 {Power Supply}

Open to any suggestions on a video card or any other part.
I hope i'm not too much of a bother, but I know you guys know this stuff pretty well and know whats compatable....if i've got any bad parts just let me know.

Also would this last a couple of years before I have to upgrade?

Thanks in advance for any help, I. REALLY appreciate it.


__________________

Whirlwind is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

The CPU link is the same link as the case.
Go with an Intel Core 2 Duo (fastest chips at the moment)
Go with this: E6600 or E6300 based on which fits your budget.

Then go with this motherboard: ASUS P5B-E
Or this motherboard but it doesn't have Firewire ports: Gigabyte DS3
I'd personally go with the DS3 because of its overclocking ability if you don't need the firewire port

Then go with this video card: eVGA 7900GTO

But persoanlly I would get this eVGA 7900GS until DX10 comes out. At $165 after rebate, nothing comes close as far as performance/price ratio. The 7900GS will play all current games until DX10 comes out

All the parts you picked are very high end, so go with the parts I listed and you'll be good to go
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

yes the 7900GTO. good choice
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Sorry about the CPU link being the same as the case, here is the CPU i was going to get http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103026

Next build will be intel, but this one will be AMD
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

you should try looking for the 5200, its got a large cache, and i thought i saw it for like 20 bucks more on newegg

okay scratch what i said up there, its 400 dollars.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Yes, i saw the 5200, however it was $70 more $329 vs $399
I did not know if the larger cache would be worth $70?
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 08:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

you'll hardly notice a difference in real world performance.. so i wouldnt worry about it... only in benchmarks n such will you find use for it
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

If you want a good amd dual core, I would find the biggest one in your budget that has 1MB cache. I think it is way more worth it then more ghz.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 08:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

if you can find a 4800, 4400, or 4000 we would be more than happy to help you overclock it to 5000 speeds anyway
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

Will there be a huge difference in games having the bigger cache and smaller Ghz?
__________________

Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.