First time builder - Need help picking hardware (gaming PC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nevin

Beta member
I've been doing some research over the last week and I've decided for the most part what I want. I just want to ask some of the experts here if these are good choices or if there is compatibility issues.Also, I've never built a computer before. The most I've ever done was replace the chipset fan. It only could be unhooked from the back, so I had to take everything apart and put it back together. Thankfully it worked so I gained a little confidence that maybe I could build a new one. Couple things I'm worried about though:

1) I've never put a Processor in a motherboard before and never have put thermal paste or mounted the heatsink/fan. I'm afraid I'll put in on wrong and the chip will fry or something.
2) There's so many things you have to plug in the motherboard I'm afraid i'll plug something in the wrong slot and ruin a piece of hardware.

Should I be worried about this? Or am I being silly?

Ok, on to the hardware parts now. Here's roughly the system I want to have:

Case: Full Tower
Processor: Core 2 Duo E6850 3.0ghz that's overclockable
RAM: 4gb of good RAM, 2 sticks of 2gb so it's dual channel
Video Card: 8800GTX Ultra (overclockable) - no SLI yet, most games I plan on playing arent compatible...can always get another card later
Hard drive: Raptor 10,000rpm 150gb

After doing some research I came up with these items:

Hardware

Case: Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Newegg.com - Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

OS: Microsoft Windows Vista 64-bit Ultimate Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Ultimate for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM

Motherboard: ASUS Striker II Formula LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI ATX Newegg.com - ASUS Striker II Formula LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail