first time builder here - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2008, 06:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: first time builder here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
What is the monitor size? what games will he be playing? what stuff will be reused?
Current monitor is 19" but I'm gonna buy buying a 22 soon. Haven't decided which yet. And I'm going to be playing Age of Conan mostly.
__________________

bigheadface is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 06:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: first time builder here

Was the max monitor size you wanted to use like 22 inches? Because I have no idea how much GPU power you will need specifically for that size monitor.
__________________

DavidJC is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 06:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: first time builder here

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigheadface View Post
Yeah, I have no intention of overclocking. I do have a few questions though to Prototype.
Why do you recommend Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3750330AS 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM over HITACHI Deskstar 7K1000 HDS721075KLA330 (0A35154) 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM is it just brand and price?

You said you aren't sure if this is enough. How unsure are you? And what would you recommend as a backup plan?

Also, I thought my case choice was decent. I'm trying to keep the price down while keeping in mind that I need to spend money to get a decent rig. What was wrong with RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WB Black SECC STEEL ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail?

And Lastly, why both GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3P LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard - Retail and ASUS P5E LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail look like they have the same specs to me...is your recommendation just on price/brand?

Thanks for the feedback.
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The difference between p35 and x38 are the chipsets. The x38 is the newer chipset and supposedly overclocks better. It also has support for pci-e 2.0.
well i think the P35 is best for him since he isnt going to overclock but i think ppl should overclock the Q6600 to 3GHz to have a faster CPU for a cheaper price.

Seagate are fast and quite and it is cheaper and u can use the money u save on other parts since it is the same space

get this one Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Power Supplies or the P&C 610w
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 06:58 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: first time builder here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
i think ppl should overclock the Q6600 to 3GHz to have a faster CPU for a cheaper price.

Well, if it is an easy thing to do, and not too easy to screw everything up, I'm down for learning how to do it if it's worth it.

Also, one more question re Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3750330AS 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

It's oem and (at least as was said in the feedback section for this part) it doesn't come with cables. So are those available in any computer parts store?
bigheadface is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 07:37 PM   #25 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: first time builder here

they come with your motherboard so no need to buy
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 12:02 AM   #26 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: first time builder here

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
Looks good to me. Psu has good amperage too. 57amps on the 12v
how many times have I told you that you CANNOT just add up the rails together and say that is the total output? The total output is 53.5A on the 12's if you look at the side panel not 57...now with this many amps it's not a big deal but if you tell someone they need 40 and recommend a PSU with 2 20A rails you will screw them becuase the rails will probably only be putting out 37 or so.

Also...go with the Corsair 650tx or 550VX from buy.com or zipzoomfly...better sites for PSU's as they have lower prices and free shipping.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:09 AM   #27 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: first time builder here

you've never told me any times. Do me a favor take the stick out your butt. Thats exactly what I would do too, is recommend someone the exact amount of amps they actually needed. I see your point..... bad example
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time builder and have a crap load of questions... No Absolution New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-09-2008 12:03 PM
Please help first time builder Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-17-2008 07:17 PM
First Time Builder Seeking Advice and Help Battlefront115 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 08-12-2007 04:29 PM
Refresh page at a certain time? Greg Web Graphics and Design 3 08-11-2007 01:08 PM
First time computer builder... zip000 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 03-31-2007 03:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.