First Time Builder... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2006, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 77
Default First Time Builder...


Right, well I am a first time builder, Got my parts today and for the best part of 4 hours I have being building. The moment when I thought "I dont' think there is anything else left to do" came and I switched it on, all the fans worked (CPU, Video Card, PSU and Case Fans) but on the monitor it said "No Signal" I checked the wire was in properly but it didn't work, when I connected my Video card i only put it into the slot on the MoBo and then connected it to the PSU. Here is the system specs:

AMD 3800X2
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Giggabyye nVidia 6800GS
2GB Corsair Valueselect DDR2 RAM
Antec True Power 2.0 PSU

Techno05 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

your problem is the ram. DDR2 will not work with current AMD processors.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 10:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari

Doens't the Mac G5 use DDR2?

Nice setup besides. I would go with a higher video card if you can afford it.
<img src="">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

How did you get the ram in the board? Didn't you notice it doesn't fit.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738

lol maybe he forgot to put it in. Yea buddy you got the wrong RAM.
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX

He must have forgot, he's not saying anything.thats to funny lmao
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 77

The RAM did fit in, but I had doubts about it. So what kind of RAM do I need to buy?
Techno05 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184

HAHA that sucks you need DDR ram otherwise nice build
royalk4 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Originally posted by Dante_Caligari
Doens't the Mac G5 use DDR2?
no, it's currently only Intel socket 775 systems that do.
AMD will be using DDR2 when socket AM2 comes out
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Originally posted by Dante_Caligari
Doens't the Mac G5 use DDR2?.
What does that have to do with anything?

The RAM did fit in, but I had doubts about it. So what kind of RAM do I need to buy?

DDR PC 3200. I know your from the UK but this is just an example of what you want to buy.


reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.