first time boot up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default first time boot up

okay, can't figure it out, got alex to help me, but still nothin.

Cleared CMOS, doublechecked everything, unplugged all unnecessary components, still nothing.

What i get is, I turn it on, and all the fans and stuff are on, but nothing on the monitor. (specs in signature) I don't get a beep code because apparently I don't have a speaker in there ?? Any help? I can answer questions, thanks...
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Did you just build this? Make sure everything is seated properly and connected.

PS. Your sig is really hard to read. Could you make it a wee bit bigger.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

next time, i would suggest u to work OFF from carpet.
im not an expert but i know this.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 08:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default

if everything is seated properly...something definitely shorted out. probably the mb, i had a similar problem when i was first building a computer. can you tell if anything is operating besides the fans? ie harddrive? if you have spare parts, start by switching out components to see if it will boot. pretty sure it's the MB tho.
FYI you may have done nothing wrong, just got a bad MB. it happens, some come DOA.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 12:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Default

i have almost the same problem. Everything including fans/HD/cd-drive is on. but nothing shows on monotor. my mobo DOES NOT have build in graphics so i have to use an evga geforce 6200. Could this be my problem? if so, how do i get it to show up on my monitor. Basically my monotor is not reading what the computer is giving out, becuase maybe the mobo doesn't recognize the graphics card? any help is appreciated thank you.
adamrund is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Yea, definatly dont work on carpet if you have the chance. Wood floors are the best, and dont wear socks. Or if you have a static wrist band thingy magig wear taht and attach it to your case...

1. Get a speaker( Not speakers but a speaker for your computer... you know what i mean...)
2. If there are NO beeps then you have a faulty motherboard This is know as posting (Power On Self Test). Or your motherboard could be not connected correctly.
3. (I'm not insulting you, but have you plugged the motherboard in? via 20/24 pin adapter? because those go bad frequently.
4. Does your processor fan turn on? if it does then your motherboard will most likely not be bad. If it doesnt then it mostlikely means it is bad but its not 100%

Yes.
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

nice explanation... better stay away from that carpet in my room... built my whole system on a shag rug in sweats... lol

at least i had a grounder i guess

EDIT: nice, this is my 100th post
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

sorry for the late update:

1) Got a speaker, lol it was an onboard one, didn't even know it...
2) Still no beeps, still nothing on the monitor
*I tested the monitor on a different comp,and it worked**
3) Yep, everythings plugged in
4) PSU comes on and all the fans in the comp are spinning, everything powered by the pSU is running

I may take it up to Fry's and see if they could test it...
__________________

__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.