First System Info/Help/Tips - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default First System Info/Help/Tips

Ok, so Christmas is approaching, and I've decided that I'd like to build my first gaming rig. Knowing that I'd never done it before, I did some research, but research only goes so far, there's no one to tell you what you did was right. Therefore, I'm posting here to see if the parts I have selected are going to be compatible.

Parts:
Tower/Case
Motherboard
CPU
PSU
RAM
Hard Drive
Video Card


I plan on taking my Optical Drives, Monitor, Speakers, Mouse and Keyboard from my current computer.

And I was also wondering if the tower I have selected can take bigger (120mm) fans, and more of them.

Thanks~
__________________

Evergreen is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

You have forgot the video card. And also instead of the X2 4200+ and Asus M2N-E try a Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 and Asus P5B
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Video Card added
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

gmanych your sig is way too big.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

are you overclocking?
if so,
you maybe want to read up on that board...some say it's no bueno for oc...(but a 2-300 mhz oc, i am sure it would be fine.)
i would suggest if at all possible upgrading to 2 gb of ram.
i like my corsair and so does my rig.
that's a great video card.
i think the psu is a bit much, but with all the bling in that case i guess you need a little more juice...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
are you overclocking?
if so,
you maybe want to read up on that board...some say it's no bueno for oc...(but a 2-300 mhz oc, i am sure it would be fine.)
i would suggest if at all possible upgrading to 2 gb of ram.
i like my corsair and so does my rig.
that's a great video card.
i think the psu is a bit much, but with all the bling in that case i guess you need a little more juice...
As of right now, I'm not planning on overclocking, and in the future I plan on upgrading my RAM (don't want to completely break my parents banks for this rig) to 2 gigs.

And can anyone give me some info on adding fans to that particular tower? (How many, what sizes, etc.)
Evergreen is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 10:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmanych
You have forgot the video card. And also instead of the X2 4200+ and Asus M2N-E try a Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 and Asus P5B
second an e6300 will run faster and better and in the future if you ever start overclocking then you will be really greatful you went with core 2
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

kingsten value ram

get this instead: g. skill ddr2 800 1gb

same price, runs faster then two sticks, ddr2 800, and it will run faster w/ 2x1gb compared to 4x512mb when you decide to get more ram.

can you push for this instead of AMD:

asus p5b-vinalla $129

core 2 dou e6300 $181

Amd's x2 are still good and you should go for dual core to be future proof, but the e6300 will out preform a fx-60 w/ a minor over clock (not even upping the voltage meaning no life taken away from the cpu). So if you can convince your parents to pay the extra money, then go with the core 2 dou.

edit: if your birthday is within 90 days of christmas or you can convince your parents to get it before your birthday, go with the evga 7600gt and upgrade to a mid range dx10 card with the step program. If you don't know what that is: evga step up program
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya I agree get a e6300 and the p5b mobo. That g skill ram is a really good buy also.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Updated Parts. (CPU, Mobo, & Ram)

Anyone know if the stock fans are enough to keep the system cool enough?
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.