First Rig Finalised...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chugget

Baseband Member
Hi,

I have settled upon my first build. This is what I have in mind (decided not to but through EBAY) lol

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.asp?ID=4555411

A couple of quick questions though..

1. Since it is my first build ( and not very technologically involved), I will not be overclocking... at first anyways... Should I ditch the heatsink and get this monitor instead???
Newegg.com - Acer AL2223Wd Black-Silver 22" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 800:1 Built in Speakers - Retail

2. Is the PSU an overkill???

3. Would I need a soundcard. I am a gamer with a headset...

4. Would I see a massive improvement with 3 or even 4 gigs of RAM?

Thank you...

No dice yet. After you move it to a temp list you need to log in and then set it as Public. You'll know you've done that when you have given it a name.

This can be really confusing I know..took me a while. It's ok

LOL Sorry Sora. Hows that. I think that might be it...

Wait, it still says secure... *&^&^

Wish list details

1) If you're really not overclocking, then yeah I guess you should ditch the heatsink but not overclocking a Core 2 Duo just isn't worth it. I would keep the 19", change the HSF to a Scythe Ninja/Tuniq Tower and overclock it. Just read a couple guides, shouldn't be too difficult. You don't have to max it out balls to the wall or anything.

2) Yeah it's overkill but it's not too bad. I would get something around 550-600W from Seasonic, Silverstone, Enermax, Corsair, OCZ etc.

My choice would be Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W Power Supply at ZipZoomfly. Plenty of power for future upgrades and you can't get much better then a Corsair.

3) You don't "need" a sound card but an X-Fi XtremeGamer would give you a HUGE difference between onboard sound.

4) No. Not worth it unless your budget is pretty much unlimited.

Why the 80gig IDE hard drive though?