First Gaming Rig.

Status
Not open for further replies.

alex!

Solid State Member
Ok im fairly new to the whole concept of sourcing and building a computer, although it has taken my interest. I would like to build a computer capable of playing CS:S and WoW with maxed out setting running at a decent fps (40-50+) as 10 fps on a laptop is not cutting it anymore. I would also like to use Photoshop and ofcourse background music.

I have spent some time on Overclockers and have sourced some parts which seem pretty good and i was hoping to get some expert opinion(s) on them. They are as follows:

CPU: Intel Core i7 930 2.80GHz (Bloomfield) (Socket LGA1366) - Retail
Mobo: Asus P6X58D-E Intel X58 (Socket 1366) DDR3 Motherboard
GFX: VTX ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Memory: Corsair XMS3 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 12800C9 (1600MHz) Tri-Channel (TR3X6G1600C9)
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (WD5000AAKS)
PSU: Antec Basiq Plus 550W Modular Power Supply
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium - Retail (Full Version)
Wireless: Edimax EW-7727In nMax 300Mbps Wireless Desktop PCI Network Adapter
Optical Drive: LG GH22NS50 22x DVD±RW SATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Sound Card - OEM (30SB057000000)
Case: Antec 1200 Twelve Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case - Black
Peripherals: Razer Naga Mouse 5600dpi MMO Laser Gaming Mouse
Microsoft SideWinder X6 Gaming Keyboard - Retail (AGB-00006)
Dell ST2310 23" ( 58 cm ) Full HD Widescreen Monitor

Price: £1,329.82 Inc. VAT​

It would be GREATLY appreciated to gain expert opinions/suggestions on this setup and make aware of any compatibility issues. Im not clear on wether the case will be suitable for the motherboard and wether or not the motherboard has enough PCI/PCIe slots.

+10000 pwnpoints for whoever can help a newbie out here :D

thanks!!!!

I see you're purchasing in £. What online stores do you buy PC components from on the other side of the pond?