First Gaming Build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2011, 07:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York,Brooklyn
Posts: 11
Default Re: First Gaming Build

Thanks for the picture and review slaymate much appreciated
__________________

Jonnyquest is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 11:54 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: First Gaming Build

You should go with a 2600k (Sandy Bridge), because besides for being a lot less money, they outperform the 980x in many applications.
__________________

tj_extreme is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 02:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York,Brooklyn
Posts: 11
Default Re: First Gaming Build

So ill return the CPU and the mobo and get the 2600k and the maximum iv, I would do it and get a 3d monitor with the money I saved but are the rest of the components I already have compatible?
As far as i can tell the only thing is that it only supports up to dual channel ram and i ordered the triple channel will it be problem?
thanks
Jonnyquest is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 05:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: First Gaming Build

If price is not an issue, I'd recommend RAIDing two (or more) of these bad boys together and loading your OS onto it. Use the HDD for storage.

Your other hardware can be as fast as you want it, but if your HDD has to look for the information you're only as fast as that. The SSD practically eliminates the seek time... especially two RAIDed together.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 05:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York,Brooklyn
Posts: 11
Default Re: First Gaming Build

So how do I do the raid just buy a SSD and hook it up as my primary?
And do I have buy the cable sepretly?
And which one would you recommend please include a link
thanks
Jonnyquest is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: First Gaming Build

Yes, you would need to return the ram, and get dual channel.
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York,Brooklyn
Posts: 11
Default Re: First Gaming Build

I'm just going to stick with what iv got I it seems more of a downgrade to me and a big hassle to do all the returns the CPU from amazon three mobo from frys and the ram from newegg lol.
Thanks anyway
Jonnyquest is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 01:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York,Brooklyn
Posts: 11
Default

Hey, I just put my build together I ended going with the Radeon 6990 because my pre-order for the 590gtx was back ordered for weeks and heard is was really under-clocked.
I'm still waiting for my Radeon 6990 and my OCZ SSD 60gb Agility 2, Here's my final specs
CPU: i7 980x

CPU Cooler: corsair H70

PSU: corsair 1200w pro

Case: Haf x 942

Drive: LG Blu-ray Super-Multi drive

MOBO: Asus Rampage iii Extreme

RAM: G.skill 12gb 1600mhz 3*4gb

Sound Card: sound-blaster X-Fi fatal1y titanium champion

HDD: WD 2TB caviar black

SSD: OCZ 60GB Agility 2

GPU: XFX Radeon 6990

I connected all the wires and parts but how should I arrange my RAM I saw some people just put it in straight and some skipping a slot, I skipped all the black ones and put them only in the red slots I saw it in a video
THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP

Here's some pics

http://m1108.photobucket.com/albums/...IvGKokD60zw%3D
Jonnyquest is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 05:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First Gaming Build

The pictures are to small, I can't see anything worth looking at. Post some pictures that are 800x600 and turn some lights on.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 08:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York,Brooklyn
Posts: 11
Default Re: First Gaming Build

Sorry about that. I just got my case lights and my SSD and installed them now I'm just waiting on my Radeon 6990.
Let me know if these are any better

[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]



This is about the best cable management that I can do most of the wires are behind the motherboard
__________________

Jonnyquest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Build. oogee New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-22-2010 03:14 PM
new gaming build erkster New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-08-2010 12:25 PM
New Gaming Build....Help? HunterHod New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-19-2008 03:14 PM
Buddies thinking new build for Video Editing... Would a gaming build work ? Rakie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-04-2008 02:30 PM
Build a Gaming PC joelminns New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-24-2006 06:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.