First Computer Build (in Germany) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2012, 06:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

You do know you'll need a different motherboard, right?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 07:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Oh, thanks for pointing that out - I see that now.

I'm just concerned that my processor will then become the weak point in my computer. What do you think?
__________________

TenZGya is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 07:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

No way... Assuming you kep the AMD A6, the GPU is and will be your only weak point right now...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 10:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

I can buy from Amazon, but when I add it up it's always more expensive than if I buy from one.de. With each new configuration I lay out, I check and see what it would cost if I bought the parts elsewhere. As I said, the disadvantage is that I am limited as to which parts I can get.

There are just so many possible configurations - hrm, I'm doing some more research. So 4x 2.7 Ghz is going to be enough? I really need to put more money into the graphics card?

I just checked on Amazon again and it came out more expensive again...

Here is the new build that I'm thinking of - it comes out to be $770

Asgard Casing
500 Watt Silverstone Strider PSU
Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 (Chipset:AMD 970/SB950/ATX)
AMD FX-4100 4x 3.6 GHz
8192MB DDR3 Kingston Dual Channel 1600MHz (PC3-12800)(2x 4GB)
1024 MB AMD Radeon HD 6850, DVI, HDMI
22x DVD+-RW Double Layer Burner/Driver
1000 GB SATA III, 7200rpm, 32MB

1. I can get "Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 (Chipset: AMD 970/SB950/ATX)" and "MSI 880GMA-E35 (Chipset: AMD 880G/mATX" for the same price - which should I get?

That's my only question for now, other than general comments and suggestions - thanks for the help!
TenZGya is offline  
Old 01-15-2012, 10:55 AM   #15 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

From my experience in building hundreds of computers, Gigabyte have the highest stability rate so I'd go with the first. A few more features on the GA board anyway.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 05:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenZGya View Post
I can buy from Amazon, but when I add it up it's always more expensive than if I buy from one.de. With each new configuration I lay out, I check and see what it would cost if I bought the parts elsewhere. As I said, the disadvantage is that I am limited as to which parts I can get.

There are just so many possible configurations - hrm, I'm doing some more research. So 4x 2.7 Ghz is going to be enough? I really need to put more money into the graphics card?

I just checked on Amazon again and it came out more expensive again...

Here is the new build that I'm thinking of - it comes out to be $770

Asgard Casing
500 Watt Silverstone Strider PSU
Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 (Chipset:AMD 970/SB950/ATX)
AMD FX-4100 4x 3.6 GHz
8192MB DDR3 Kingston Dual Channel 1600MHz (PC3-12800)(2x 4GB)
1024 MB AMD Radeon HD 6850, DVI, HDMI
22x DVD+-RW Double Layer Burner/Driver
1000 GB SATA III, 7200rpm, 32MB

1. I can get "Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 (Chipset: AMD 970/SB950/ATX)" and "MSI 880GMA-E35 (Chipset: AMD 880G/mATX" for the same price - which should I get?

That's my only question for now, other than general comments and suggestions - thanks for the help!
I'd say the Gigabyte based on features, but the MSI based on bad experiences with Gigabyte. Their RMA process, it SUCKS. Almost non-existent. I don;t know how good MSI's is, maybe someone else does?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
From my experience in building hundreds of computers, Gigabyte have the highest stability rate so I'd go with the first. A few more features on the GA board anyway.
Glad you've had good luck with Gigabyte. From my experience, I'd recommend MSI, and that's only in this situation. Normally I'd say Asus, but that's pretty out of the question with the budget restraints.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 06:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

I agree with tj_extreme, if you happen to have a problem, Gigabyte offers the worse support and their RMA policy is awful. I've only bought one Gigabyte product in my life and it is and will be the last.



Source
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 07:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate:1955361
I agree with tj_extreme, if you happen to have a problem, Gigabyte offers the worse support and their RMA policy is awful. I've only bought one Gigabyte product in my life and it is and will be the last.



Source
Thanks Slay, I didn't want people thinking I was a fanboy.. Gigabyte is just an awful manufacturer, and should be avoided if at all possible.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 08:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

I never had a problem with Gigabyte. But, I put ASUS at the highest. I had to send many things back to them for RMA. I got it back within 2 weeks. Also, rebates are fast, too. Just look at my sig...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 02:06 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Well this might resolve the whole mainboard issue. A friend of mine suggested that I forgot about the AMD 4100 and instead get an Intel i5 2500K... is that really worth the investment? Between the better GPU and CPU I'll have almost doubled what I expected to spend XD

Perhaps the 2500K will become more affordable after they release Ivy Bridge?
__________________

TenZGya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello from Germany Anton1 New Member Introductions 4 12-06-2011 05:52 PM
Germany warns surfers against Firefox Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 0 03-22-2010 10:47 AM
Zattoo available in Germany Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-16-2007 08:37 AM
The Great Beer Party in Germany assunta Off Topic Discussion 6 08-30-2006 10:22 AM
Moving to Germany, must i change PC`s PSU? gEeK System Upgrades 7 04-01-2006 10:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.