First Computer Build (in Germany) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2012, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default First Computer Build (in Germany)

Okay, so I'll just get to the nitty-gritty. This is my shopping list for my new desktop:

-500 Watt Power Supply, OEM, normal loudness
-MSI 880GMA-E35 (Chipset AMD 880G/mATX)
-AMD FX-4100 4x 3.6 GHz
-4096MB DDR3 Kingston Dual Channel 1600MHz (PC3-12800)
-1024 MB AMD Radeon HD 6670, VGA, DVI, HDMI
-22x DVD+-RW Double Layer Burner Drive
-500 GB SATA III, 7200rpm, 16MB
-Standard ATX "Design Casing"
-Logitech K120 black USB Keyboard
-AOC F22+ 54.6 cm (21.5 inch) widescreen TFT Monitor (VGA, reaction time 5ms)

And here are a few questions:

-Is the 500 Watt power supply going to be enough? (also, will it be so loud that I'm going to want to rip my hair out?)
-Is this cheap motherboard going to hold my computer back?
-Quad-core is enough... isn't it? Not time to go to 6 and 8 core machines, right?
-4 GB or 8 GB of 1600 MHz memory?
-This is one of the better graphics cards for the money, right?
-That monitor is so cheap, I'm skeptical - anyone had personal experiences with it?

Thank you in advance for your time and thought
__________________

TenZGya is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Most modern PSU's are quite quiet. Your case fans would be louder. Well, when you have 5 in your case... :P
500W should be fine for your setup, however, get a good brand of PSU, or you endanger all your components. Look at Antec, Corsair, OCZ.

That board isn't really cheap. It should be fine with the rest of your system.

Quad Core is enough for any game. They don't go above 4 cores.

I'd go with 8GB of RAM. It's price is only like $10-15 more than 4GB. Double the RAM for so little.

Not sure on the graphics, wait for someone else.

I have no experience with AOC. I'd rather get an Acer. They are relatively cheap, but put out good stuff.

Where are you buying this? On Newegg, the board is deactivated.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Well the amd radeon 6670 runs games at high settings but if ur gonna play bf3,skyrim,etc i would get a higher card like a amd radeon 6850 then upgrade the psu to a OCZ Modxstream 600w Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W Modular High Performance Power Supply compatible with Intel Sandybridge Core i3 i5 i7 and AMD Phenom comes with dvd burner and 15 dollar promo code + 25 dollar mail in rebate and free shipping. Its basically free :0
Talyor is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

What's your budget, and where are you going to buy from? Your in Germany, so unless your military and can send to an APO, I think Newegg is out.
but I do agree, there are better cards out there, hence the money question
MoM also is right... 8GB is better than 4.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Yeah, you're right. I can't buy from Newegg because I'm in Germany (also limits me on my brands). I also have a deal set up with a dealer and can get parts really cheap, but I'm limited as to what I can get.

I can upgrade from OEM to a higher quality unit (extra $10) from BeQuiet, but it would only have 350 Watts - is that enough? Or should I get a Silverstone 500 Watts for an extra $35? I unfortunately can't get Antec, Corsair, or OCZ from my supplier - just OEM, BeQuiet, and Silverstone.

Talyor: I mostly do strategy games with lower graphic demands, so I thought of it as better to put money into my processor instead of my graphics card (the logic there is solid, right? strategy games are heavier on the processor?) Awww, I'd kill for that deal! I should have bought some parts while I was at home in the US over Christmas!

So far, my tab is around $700 (minus the monitor) if I get everything as mentioned below (plus wires, casing, and everything else), but add more RAM (2x 4GB 1600 Mhz). I'd like to stay around that amount.

Back home in Indiana - we don't even have a sales tax for online purchases - this would be soooo much cheaper, I think, if I did it there... but I would never be able to get through customs with a whole desktop without paying German taxes

Thanks for your suggestions!

What about this monitor?

Acer G225HQVBD 54.6 cm (21.5 Inch) Widescreen TFT-Monitor (DVI/VGA, 5ms Reaction-time)
TenZGya is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 02:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

I would suggest the Silverstone myself
Maybe you can look at something like the 6850? Good range GPU and it'll be good for future games if you so decide to play a FPS
Maybe even the 550 ti?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 02:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

SilverStone is good. OEM and BeQuite are bad.

Might want to tell us where you are ordering from, so we aren't just guessing.

I have the G235H, and love it. So you should expect as much. Same model, just a different screen size.

(BTW, don't double post, use the edit button.)

@ Nukem - You were ninja'd on the 6850. Taylor said it long before you. :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

Okay, getting a better brand PSU is probably worth it.

I could get 2 6570's for a 1/4 as much as the 6850. And I'll have to get a bigger casing if I want to go up to the 6850 or the 550... What about the 6770 or 6790?

Thanks for the tip on the monitor - I'd have probably eventually regretted getting the super cheap monitor.

Well, at this point it seems like I'll be ordering it from one.de - a friend recommended it to me - I can't find anywhere where I a better deal in Germany.
TenZGya is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 05:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

A single 6850 will rip apart a 6570 in Xfire.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 12
Default Re: First Computer Build (in Germany)

What if I downgraded to a AMD A6-3670K, 4x 2.70 GHz, HD6530D and put that money into a 6850 or 550 ti?
__________________

TenZGya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello from Germany Anton1 New Member Introductions 4 12-06-2011 05:52 PM
Germany warns surfers against Firefox Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 0 03-22-2010 10:47 AM
Zattoo available in Germany Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-16-2007 08:37 AM
The Great Beer Party in Germany assunta Off Topic Discussion 6 08-30-2006 10:22 AM
Moving to Germany, must i change PC`s PSU? gEeK System Upgrades 7 04-01-2006 10:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.