first comp build..ideas/help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Ajax117
Default first comp build..ideas/help

so far ive just gotten together all the stuff that i "think" is good

so here it is

case: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...572&CatId=1521

mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136009

cpu: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547

memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231047

gfxcard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150139

HD: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1827152

DVD burner:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&Sku=S167-4212

dvd drive: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...03249&CatId=88

those are all the things iam planning on buying.

if there is something missing/ or something you not recomend me get let me know : p
__________________

Ajax117 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

dude u do not need that motherboard. get like a DFI Lanparty UT ULtra-D or MSi K8n neo4-f. its a Xfire board, ur getting nvidia, and u DONT NEED XFire or SLI! its garbage. and u save a lot of money. with that money get a WEstern Digital Raptor 36GB for system and games. dont buy a Case that comes with a PSU because your putting your hardware in jeopardy. Get a regular antec or something at newegg, wouldnt suggest tigerdirect over newegg, and an Antec SmartPower or Antec TruePower PSU, buy a psu thats at least 500W, and ur set.

OH ! and before i forget, DO NOT buy a 4200+ or a 4600+, get an Opteron 165 or Opteron 170 or X2 3800+, but the Opteron's are WAYYY better.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

Do you really need a DVD burner and a DVD-ROM drive?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Good memory. Get another case and get yourself a decent power supply; don't go cheap on the psu. NewEgg has been having some terrific sales lately in both areas.

Like john3 said, go with an Opteran (great for overclocking) OR that X2 3800+ is a very nice chip; plus you can save some serious cash. I would add the EPoX 9NPA+Ultra into the mix of very fine motherboards as well. The cost to benefits ratio with SLi and Crossfire isn't that great. Performance wise it isn't that much of an increase while costing you more in cash for both the board and another graphics card.

The harddrive will do you fine.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

I love that case, I wish they shipped them to where I live.
cyrax is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Ajax117
Default

well the only reason iam gettin from tigetdirect is because the store is like 20 min away from where i live.

and why iam getting dvd burner and dvd drive is so i can just slide in the dvd and burn directly from dvd to dvd rw

iam kinda confused..if the mobo doesnt support x2 would it still work?!?!

tnx for the info on cpu and psu
Ajax117 is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will support an X2, but if it isn't on one of the later BIOS' than it will only recognise one core, so will need a BIOS flash.

Don't waste your money on a crossfire board, even if you did go for an ATI card, I will still say go with a Nvidia Nforce chipset, because it is so much better.

I don't agree with the raptor that was mentioned, they are a waste of money right now. How ever, stick with the X2 3800 or 4400 or go with the Opteron 165 and when you want to, overclock it loads.

Also remember that Intel's Conroe is coming out in early July.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 10:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default

Why a ATA hard drive? Go with a SATA II, 16MB cache... great performance.
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
$129.99 + $4.99 Three Day Shipping

If you're going with a single graphics card, go with the DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
$123.99 + $6.67 Three Day Shipping
(There was one of these for sale in the B/S/T forum. $100, includes a Zalman 7000cu HS/F as well as shipping)

If you want the best performance, go with a CPU that has 2 x 1MB cache... 4400+, 4800+, Opty 165/170/175/180.

XFX is hit-or-miss. Either it will come screaming out of the box, or it will be a dud. eVGA is known around here as being the most solid, as well as for performance.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 10:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Also, why the XFX 7900 Extreme? I heard it has a lot of problems with its board architechture [something with the capacator falling off the board...]

Oh and get a nice Tt Tsunami or what I am getting - XaserV Damier 6000a [both are good, damier is bigger and a bit more fancy but some refer to it as over-toyed so it depends on you'r taste], either way the Tt's are always GOOD quality...lots better than a x-navigator case..
Yoad is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 11:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Ajax117
Default

i read somewhere that some of the evga video cards they just oc'ed without testing and alot of people are having problems

same with alot of other nvida cards...so iam not really sure which one to get

and also for the vid card i want it to play oblivian and ET:quake wars on max settings or close to max.

and for the conroe anyone have info/links about it, i have no idea wut it is/ how good its supposed to be
__________________

Ajax117 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.