First Comp Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default First Comp Build

Intel Core 2 Duo e6300
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005

MSI P965 Neo-F LGA 775
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130052

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231018

Antec SmartPower 2.0 500W
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

XFX GeForce 7900GS 256MB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150202

WD Caviar RE 160GB 7200/16MB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144175

COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119077

I havent decided on a CD drive yet, trying to find a good one for under 35 bucks.

Will this build be able to handle most PC games on Medium to high settings?

Also im having a brain fart right now, what else am I missing to have a complete computer. I have a monitor and mouse and keyboard and that stuff.

Thanks for reading!!
__________________

S13DET is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

go with atleast ddr2 667
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Ok, I swapped out the RAM with this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098

What else am I missing to build and have a running system? I know I need an Operating System I have an unopened Windows XP w/ Service pack 2.

I also believe I need a network card any suggestions...just need it to be able to connect to the net, so I can play games!
S13DET is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 01:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

You don't need a network card because your motherboard has onboard network... Then again I really don't fancy that motherboard you've picked out. At least get a Gigabyte, Asus or Abit motherboard. Not that MSI are bad, but the brands I mentioned have boards that you can't really go wrong with if they suit your demands.

If you're into overclocking, get a nice cpu cooler. Look into getting a case fan for your case. And maybe a soundcard but that's optional.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Get this board over the MSI

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138037

I Have the board and it is excellent for the price. Also if you ever plan on doing some overclocking this thing is amazing.

If not it still is a rock solid board.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Ok, guys well there has been some good news I was alotted some extra money and now have a max of $1,250 dollars. So i changed some stuff.

Advice on parts appreciated!

LITE-ON 18X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model LH-18A1P-186


COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-WW Black/Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case


Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600JSRTL 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive


XFX PVT71JYHE9 GeForce 7950GT 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP ExTreme Edition Video Card

COOLER MASTER eXtreme RP-500-PCAR ATX from factor 12V V2.01 500W Power Supply

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ

GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

Microsoft Windows XP Home with SP2

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6400

Will it do max settings in games like Half-Life 2,Battlefield 2(2124),WoW....?
S13DET is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

definatly max settings...
alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

i dont think theres any point in getting the 6400 over the 6300 ,, i dont think the performance difference is even noticable so in my opinion its not worth it unless you have money to burn,, thats just my 2 cents . good luck with the build
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Ill take that into consideration, I was hoping to save some mmore money, so i might just get the e6300.
S13DET is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IrishNinjaX
i dont think theres any point in getting the 6400 over the 6300 ,, i dont think the performance difference is even noticable so in my opinion its not worth it unless you have money to burn,, thats just my 2 cents . good luck with the build
higher multiplier. thats the only reason, and i dont know how good of a reason it is.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.