First build, updated Specs.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default First build, updated Specs....

Hello, again... I hope this is one of the last times I post this because I have done it multiple of times, changing things each time. Thanks for all your help before and now I am just making sure I haven't made a freak mistake. I just have a few questions though:
1. Where can I find a component (HDTV, Green, Blue, and Red Cables) Tv Tuner or other capture Device.
2. Is the gtx worth it over th gts.
3. Is their a better PSU that has more wattage, for the same price and modular.
4. Also where can I find a good gaming keyboard for about the same price, just incase this is out of stock when I buy.

*Note* Prices include Shipping, and MIR means Mail in Rebate *Note*

PSU HIPER HPU-4B580-MS ATX12V 580W - $95.83
Motherborad EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA 680i - $249.99
Cpu Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe - $317.00
Gpu eVGA 640-P2-N825-AR GeForce 8800GTS 640MB -$406.12 -$30 MIR
Ram CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2-800 - $254.00 -$40 MIR
HDD Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB - $74.99
DVD-Rom LITE-ON 20X DVD¬ĪR DVD Burner - $36.99
Mouse Razer Diamondback Acid Green 1600 dpi - $44.98
Keyboard Saitek PZ30AU Black - $51.12
TV Tuner ATI 100-714127 PCI Interface HDTV - $95.63

Sub-Total$1592.92
Shipping $33.73
Rebates $70.00
-------------------------
Total $1626.65
-$70 MIR
-------------------------
Total $1556.65


Thanks for all your help, will have this computer in just about 6 weeks so I needed to do this once again to reassure myself it will work properly.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 196
Default

I suggest you save yourself some money on the CPU and get a Conroe E6300 or E6400. You can overclock it to the E6600 speed easily and save yourself $100.

Then get a cheaper board than the EVGA. Use your saved money to upgrade the 8800GTS to the GTX!!! Way faster and a little cheaper than what you have now =)

Get this PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817190007

Everything looks good, I'll let someone else answer the HDTV questions. =)
__________________

__________________
Gateway
Quad Q9300
DDR2 6GB
ATI 4850 512MB
Acer 24" Monitor
Boma is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

I don't know, I don't plan on extream intensive gaming. More video editing and more of a media machine. The e6400 only has 2M shared L2 Cache and the e6600 expands even more than that. The one thing is for sure I am keeping my Cpu I have picked. I really want to overclock the thing greatly for better perforamce when running editing apps. And this is the only mother board that has 3 pc X16 express slots . that is in my price range, I may not use them but it is a plus. I do plan to over clock and I heard this board does the job.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

go with a cheaper motherboard like a
asus p5b
msi 975x
abit aw9d

also keep the psu you have that one that boma suggested is crap dont get ti, keep the one you have listed
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

I want a 680I board for a decent price though.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

why do you want a 680i motherboard?
unless your going sli you wont need it because thats really the only feature it has above the 975x boards (which with hacked drivers you can do sli with)
and if your thinking of doing sli, dont because for the price it is not worth it
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

I plan to go sli and for me the price is worth it. Sorry but i love my spec for my pc. Sli is where I am going and when vista comes out I will have that too. I know will wait for 6 months but i love tecnology and the bets is whats for me. GTX is the only thing stoping me.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 03:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Sorry for double post... Where can I find a Component TV tuner or other Capture Device. I have looked everywhere and I still havn't found what I need.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

That is an awesome build, much like mine (building it tuesday next week). except I'm using a E6300 and overclocking it to E6600 speeds. The extra 2MB cache the E6600 offers doesn't make that much of a difference. (at least I don't think, if you want the E6600 thats great, more power to ya). I'm using the same motherboard mainly for it being easy to overclock, SLI, and it can be used with future Quad core processors (1333MB FSB).

Unless you have a 25"+ monitor the GTS is great in my book. You should be able to run everything very well for a while.

If you plan on going SLI then you should check the mobo manufacturer's website. They list some memory modules that will offer increased performance with SLI.

I'd also like to suggest getting 2 HDD's and doing RAID-0. Not that much extra (relative to other components)

Great Build, let us know how it runs!
__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default

I like the build myself :-)
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.