First Build, Need Opinions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 12:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

You can get higher ram than it says. Just 400 is regular. If hes gaming than valueselect isnt the best stuff to get. Some gskill 2x 1gb stuff with 2-3-2-5 timings I think.

Whats your budget anyway?
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ambush
Well right now my budget is like 1000$ or a little more for just the tower. But i still have to get a monitor, keyboard, and mouse. Umm im gonna say budget for the TOWER itself is gonna be no more than 1300$ give or take a few dollars.
Yea budget for the tower i want to max out on about 1300$ for the tower.

Im sorry if i wasent saying it right.
__________________

ambush is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

oh well you could take my build as something to build off of, but im going the ATI route with graphics. Mine comes out just over 1300 with my shipping and before rebates.

your case:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811166004

CPU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103747

MoBo:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135024

RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227124

GPU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102022

HD:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140

Optical
drive:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151118

PSU:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937

OS:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832102357

Monitor:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824254005

keyboard/mouse:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126174

That comes to 1297 before shipping and rebates, and includes pretty much everything you'll need. If your budget is 1300 for the tower(which now i understand) than take this and upgrade a few things until you reach your limit.

Links fixed
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Default

For some odd reason none of your links work.

But with your set-up are you able to play BF2 on maxed out setttings with nice FPS rating and stuff like that?
ambush is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Well this is actually what i have lined up for my build. But im pretty sure that with this card and the procesor and RAM it'll run most current games at pretty solid settings. And i'll fix those links for you. Ok they're fixed And the card is an x1900 gt with 256 mb memory and 256 bit interface. The core clock speed is 575 mhz and the memory clock speed is 1200mhz. Basicaly this card runs fast and should preform really well at whatever you throw at it if you have the right parts around it. Thats with my budget though, if your budget has more room than keep the card you had, ill find a good motherboard to work with that card(mine has a crossfire chipset)
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

I agree with the AM2 socket suggestion, but you hadn't posted a budget.

So $1000 for everything in the tower, not including your monitor and stuff?

If you want to try the AM2 stuff, maybe the 3800+ for $109
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103631

and of course you'd need an AM2 board, like this one

Gigabyte GA-M55SLI-S4 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard $94.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128321
Shannon is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 01:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Those are some good suggestions, although i fit am AMD athlonx2 4200+ into my budget, which came to 1300 after monitor OS, and keyboard/mouse
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 11:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I would get a x2 3800 and learn to oc if you dont know. Theres a Dfi Infinity mobo out there and 2gb off some low latency ddr2 800.
The x1900gt or the 7900gt. I would push for a x1900xt but thats just me. Cases can be a personally preference but dont order anything too small and what would be good for airflow and wire management.

Thermaltake Tsunami $115.99 $20 Mail In Rebate

WD 320GB $99.99 $10 Mail In Rebate

DFI Infinity AM2 NF4 Mobo $94.99

Sapphire x1900xt $319.99 $30 Mail In Rebate

Antec 550W $84.99

AMD X2 3800 $149.00

G.SKILL DDR2 800 $199.99

Comes to $1,064.94. Great build

(Didnt have time for links, gotta help around outside.)
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Yea that iis a nice build but i DO NOT WANT to OVERCLOCK . I really want my computer to last me a few years before i have to upgrade.

So maybe i should go with a core duo maybe a 4200 or 4400, and if so, would i need a new mobo and can these core duo's handle battlefield 2 and counter strike source at maxed settings very well? (Prefer from Personal Experience, maybe their set up and what they did with a core duo to play those games.)
ambush is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 01:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

core 2 duos from what ive heard are better than what AMD has right now. But AMD just had a price drop so you'll be saving money with them, and you'll be ready for AMD's next line of procesors, if you go with a socket AM2. And the x1900xt will play pretty much anything you can throw at it, but it's exspensive. Heres a link to the card, i think you'll be glad to see people are running BF2 at max settings

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102025
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.