First Build: Need Input - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 81
Post First Build: Need Input

Finally, after almost two weeks of voracious reading in various forums my first system is ready. I am beginning to buy the parts right now and would appreciate any feedback from the pros. Here is what I’m getting:

CPU: AMD AM2 4000+
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...egory_Code=AM2

Motherboard: MSI K9N SLI Platinum
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130048

Memory: G. Skill 2x1GB 800DDR2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231071

Hard Drive: Western Digital 74 GB; 10,000 RPM; 16 MB Cache
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136033

Power Supply: Antec TruePower 2 550W
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103932

Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech DiNovio Bluetooth Wireless
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126177

Optical Drive: BenQ DW1655 with Lightscribe
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827101008

SoundCard: E-MU 0404
http://www.zzounds.com/item--EMU8803

Speakers: Alesis M1 Active MK2 Biamp
http://www.zzounds.com/item--ALEM1AMK2


Case: Antec Performance
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129017


The case took the most amount of time to look for. I had also these choices, among others:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129154
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119042
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811196006
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811165012
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119035





Do I need a separate heatsink with AMD? Is this system OK for future overclocking? (I have never done that either.)
I know about Conroe and AMD price drops, but I need this system now. My goal is to upgrade my system in a year or so by simply replacing the CPU with K8L and adding 2 more GBs of memory.
I already received Samsung 19” SyncMaster as a gift and don’t need a monitor. Also don’t need a graphic card because I don’t play video games.
For CPU, I could get 4600 or 4800, but given that those are already “old” tech CPUs, I don’t think they are worth the extra money.

Any system suggestions? I wanted to get 4200 at first, but someone in another forum recommended to get 4000 instead b/c it has a larger cache. Do you agree?

(I will be buying the CPU last, in case dual core prices drop earlier.)
__________________

Excelsius is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

You are going to need a video card if you want to view anything on your monitor. You can get a 7300GS or X1300 on NewEgg for pretty cheap.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 81
Default

.................

Edit: I somehow missed that in the specs

There is a much cheaper Asus mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131014

It has an integrated video card but I guess it doesn't have the same quality eh? If it doesn't, then my only solution would be a separate video card b/c none of the higher end mobo's have integrated video card.
Excelsius is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Excelsius
So then I guess there is no graphic card integrated into the motherboard?
Nope.

Also, you aren't going to need that extra network card. Your motherboard has 2 gigabit network cards built in.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 81
Default

Thanks for letting me know. I'll edit the network card out then.
Do you think if I cheap out on the vidoe card I will have a slow system, especially when Vista comes out with Aero graphics? I also use photoshop and other 3D designing software (SolidWorks). I want to make sure that I don't get the wrong video card.
Excelsius is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 01:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Excelsius
Thanks for letting me know. I'll edit the network card out then.
Do you think if I cheap out on the vidoe card I will have a slow system, especially when Vista comes out with Aero graphics? I also use photoshop and other 3D designing software (SolidWorks). I want to make sure that I don't get the wrong video card.
Do not get onboard video. Especially if you are planning to use Windows Vista, Photoshop and Solidworks. The 7300GS or X1300 would be alright for Vista and Photoshop. I do not know about Solidworks, you may need something higher for that.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 01:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 81
Default

I was told 7600GT would be better. I decided to get:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133150

What do you think?

Can anyone give me some info about a great wireless keyboard/mouse set that has a range of at least 8 ft? MS sucks. The DiNovo that I listed has great range and reviews, but someone in another forum told me that it doesn't work that great.
Excelsius is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

7600GT is a good card and should run Vista and apps on it quite well.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 81
Default

I read more great reviews about DiNovo and I think it's good enough, especially since the mouse is rechargeable and I don't have to waste money on batteries.

I got some great feedback in different forums. Now I need to decide whether to get and ATI x16000pro video card or Nvidia x16000pro. Since I don't play games, is it really much better to ATI for graphic design and such?

These are the two I am considering:

SAPPHIRE Radeon X1600PRO
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102680

OR
eVGA Geforce 7600GT 256-P2-N553-AX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

What are some opinions on these?
Excelsius is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Im not a Fanboy, but I do truly believe the 7600GT is the better card. By the way you do realize that the X1600 you linked is AGP, and the 7600GT is PCI-E?

But anyway yes 7600GT, very good card, will cope with todays games well too.
__________________

__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.