First Build: Mediocre Setup - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 10:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 49
Default

What should I look for in a Mobo anyways? I've never been 100% sure on this, aside from the brands, and compatibility.
__________________

GimiMyGF4Ti4600 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Brand name such as ASUS MSI GIGABYTE etc. And also make sure that it has the correct FSB for the CPU
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
o well lets just say no comparison. That e6300 would run laps around the x2 4200.
c'mon lance.
i wouldn't say laps around it.
a 64-6600 yes indeedy. the 6300 will be very close performance wise (yes i love amd, but intel is fantastic, too).
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
c'mon lance.
i wouldn't say laps around it.
a 64-6600 yes indeedy. the 6300 will be very close performance wise (yes i love amd, but intel is fantastic, too).
You're right, that is until you overclock, then it'll be pretty substantial.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

austin, i'm still iffy about that = aiee.
although i have read of 6300's going into the 3's...
i plan to press mine that far too.
so far it's stable at 2.7-8
not that far to go.
but, as far as the technology goes...i would have to agree that the o.c. ability of the conroe is much more user friendly, haha.
i work pretty hard at pressin my little chip....
probably will upgrade to 6400 if amd doesn't come out w/ an answer in the next year or so...
and really only because i think i will have reached (/ surpassed haha) my 4200's ability by then.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 01:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
austin, i'm still iffy about that = aiee.
although i have read of 6300's going into the 3's...
i plan to press mine that far too.
so far it's stable at 2.7-8
not that far to go.
but, as far as the technology goes...i would have to agree that the o.c. ability of the conroe is much more user friendly, haha.
i work pretty hard at pressin my little chip....
probably will upgrade to 6400 if amd doesn't come out w/ an answer in the next year or so...
and really only because i think i will have reached (/ surpassed haha) my 4200's ability by then.
The 4200's and E6300's clock speed aren't equivalents, so a 3.0+ e6300 would take the 3.0+ 4200 easily, and like you said, overclocking the 4200+ probably isnt even close to being as easy as the core 2 duos. Also, the 6300's can get that high with air cooling, I'm not sure about the 4200's.

I did a quick google search and came across this picture (I wont post due to the size of it) http://img166.echo.cx/img166/4978/11x291spi1m0nw.jpg
So, based off of that, this guy's 4600+ is OC'ed at 3.2, and it does a 1m superpi in 26.89 seconds. My stock 6300 can do a 1m superpi 29.5 seconds, so a little under 3 seconds more comparing oc'ed vs stock. I plan on OCing once I get some better RAM, but my friend decided to OC his 6300 to around 2.3 and was able to hit 25.something seconds on the 1m superpi. So I'm just saying, it's a pretty substantial difference.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 02:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

rockin i wish i knew how he got to 3.2
...
yeah dude i have seen the 6600's do like 19-20 seconds and that kicks anythings arse...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 02:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

lookin at pics, i notice he also uses ddr ram.
do you think that has something to do with his score?
and yeah, 4.5 seconds is a pretty substantial difference for sure...i just wonder where you see that difference in applications?
2 things;
i have air cooling, and i am pretty sure i can do it on air. my mobo is not the best o.cer... live and learn
when you say the clock speeds are not equivalent, what do you mean exactly?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 03:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
when you say the clock speeds are not equivalent, what do you mean exactly?
I meant like a 4200 at 2.4 isn't the same as an E6300 at 2.4.


You probably wont see much of a difference in our CPUs unless you're doing something with audio/video editing or image/graphic rendering. Right now it seems hardware is going too fast for software.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 11:35 AM   #20 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I think the 4200 stock is 2.2, and the e6300 stock is 1.8. Like austin said if you oc a 4200 and a 6300 to 2.8, the 6300 has to oc .4 more ghz to get there.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.